June 2, 2024 | General

Boys Pounces as Leaders Collide in Race Four

Jordan Boys pounced on contact between the leaders to nab the final race of the Trico Trans Am Series at Race Tailem Bend.

Full results available here.

James Moffat and Todd Hazelwood, as they had all weekend, were battling over the lead of the final race when an inadvertent tap from the latter on the exit of Turn 1 in the early stages sent the former sideways.

Hazelwood propped to allow Moffat to regather, but the loss of momentum allowed Boys to shoot past them both into the lead, while James Golding also took advantage to slip into third place.

Boys didn’t look back from that point on, setting a new lap record on the way to a nearly three-second win over Moffat, who won the round overall and extended his points lead to 41.

Hazelwood, meantime, copped a five-second time penalty from the stewards for the bump on Moffat.

He hassled Golding for third for the remainder of the race and made his way past in the closing stages, although Hazelwood fell back to fourth in the final results once the penalty was applied.

Nathan Herne finished a distant fifth, his #29 Dodge Challenger trailing smoke as he narrowly fended off Tim Slade, while Edan Thornburrow, Nash Morris, Elliott Cleary and Lee Stibbs rounded out the top 10.

Elliot Barbour was again in the wars, tangling with Jackson Rice on the opening lap and later ending up off the road while battling with Morris, pitting to have grass removed from the #75 Chevrolet Camaro’s intakes before returning to finish 16th.

Rice, meanwhile, sustained damage that led him to limp around some 10 seconds off the pace for the remainder of the race to be classified 18th.

The only retirement was Josh Webster, who ended up off the road to the inside of Turn 6 with five laps remaining.

In the Pro-Am battle, it was local hero Lee Stibbs who wrapped up the weekend with class victory and tenth overall. Mark Bailey secured the overall round in Pro-Am ahead of Stibbs and Joshua Thomas.

The Trico Trans Am Series resumes at Queensland Raceway on July 12-14.