August 18, 2023 | General

Heinrich Claims Debut Trophy Race Win

Joel Heinrich’s dream Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters debut has continued, with the South Australian ace backing up his pole position with victory in the Trophy Race at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The Daimler Trucks Adelaide Chevrolet Camaro dominated proceedings and never looked back after claiming the lead, in an ominous display for the competition ahead of this weekend’s three championship races.

The Trophy Race started in spectacular fashion on the opening lap when multiple cars came to grief at the first corner, including Andrew Fisher (Jesus Racing Holden Torana), Jason Palmer (Palmers Sales and Marketing BMW E30) and Peter Burnitt (Depulu Wheel Reconditioners Holden Torana).

At the end of lap one Tony Karanfilovski (TIFS Third Party Logistics Ford Mustang) retained the top spot after starting from pole, ahead of Danny Buzadzic (Western General Body Works Holden Torana) and Joel Heinrich (Daimler Trucks Adelaide Chevrolet Camaro).

Buzadzic took his opportunity to claim the lead at the turn six hairpin on lap two, but only a few corners later, Heinrich found himself in the top spot.

Ryan Hansford (Multispares Holden Torana) was another to make strong early progress, and he slotted into second position at turn one on lap three.

At the chequered flag, it was Heinrich with the victory by 4.1488sec, along the way picking up the fastest lap of the race with a quick time of 2:00.8530sec.

Second went to Hansford from Buzadzic, with John Bowe (Rare Spares Holden Torana) finishing fast to claim fourth.

Cameron Tilley (Anglomoil Racing Valiant Pacer) was next ahead of Steven Johnson (Hancock Racing Ford Mustang), then Geoff Fane (Daimler Trucks Adelaide Chevrolet Camaro), Karanfilovski, Adam Williams (Williams Outdoor Holden Torana), with John Adams (Bullet Trailers Ford XY GT Falcon) rounding out the top-ten.

In the class classifications, wins went to Buzadzic in Pro Am, Willaims in Invitational, and Adams in Pro Sport.

Marcus Zukanovic, meanwhile, was a non-starter in the Action Racing Ford Falcon.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters return tomorrow with a pair of seven-lap races, scheduled for 8:10am ACST and 12:30pm, with all of the action live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sports.