August 13, 2023 | General

Race 2 Qualifying shootout format explained

The Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Race 2 qualifying format will give drivers more laps in a bid to secure the Pirelli Pole Award for the Sunday race at Queensland Raceway. 

Concerns from teams regarding tyre warm-up in the planned single-lap shootout format have been allayed with the introduction of a pair of 7-minute sessions and an elimination format.

The quickest 10 cars from Qualifying 2 on Saturday have progressed to the Shootout, with all 10 to take part in the first segment.

At the end of that 7-minute session, the quickest five cars will progress to round two and will be able to fight for the Pirelli Pole Award.

Including warm-up laps, the sessions should allow for the potential of two to three flying laps for each car, depending on preparation.

As originally announced, the session will be only open to the designated Amateur driver in each entry.

As a result, the drivers to take part will include Geoff Emery (Audi), Chris Batzios (Mercedes-AMG), Liam Talbot (Audi), Prince Abu Ibrahim (Mercedes-AMG), Ross Poulakis (Mercedes-AMG), Prince Jefri Ibrahim (Mercedes-AMG), Yasser Shahin (Porsche 911 GT3), Garth Walden / Mike Sheargold (Mercedes AMG GT3), Brett Hobson / Mike Bailey (Mercedes-AMG) and Brad Schumacher (Audi).

The new two-part Shootout qualifying format will open the Sunday Stan Sport broadcast from Queensland Raceway at 11:30am today.