August 9, 2023 | General

Expanded Kumho Series grid ready for QR return

THE KUMHO TYRES V8 Touring Car Series will sport its best field of the season when the battle resumes at Queensland Raceway this weekend. 

The growing nature of the returning series will be on show with double figures competing for the first time this year – with that grid only set to grow further as the year progresses.

With 10 cars confirmed for the Queensland Shannons SpeedSeries event this weekend, that number is only expected to grow for the series’ next stop at Sandown in September.

This weekend marks the only time the V8’s will race at the Ipswich circuit in 2023 – and the first time since 2019.

The Queensland field includes the return of familiar faces, including Brendan Strong aboard his Crusher Parts International VE Commodore.

The two-car Beikoff Racing squad also make their return to the track with a pair of Ford Falcon entries.

Jarred Danaher will race his FG Falcon while the fan-favourite AU driven by team owner Shane Beikoff will make its first start of the season this weekend.

The additional newcomers also include Derek Hocking’s VE Commodore.

Jude Bargwanna leads the Kumho Series standings following the opening two rounds however has not had things his own way.

Jim Pollicina and Jamie Tilley – in his first season in the category – have continually applied pressure to Bargwanna meaning the Queensland round will be no walk in the park for the Anderson Motorsport driver.

Pollicina in particular has significant experience driving his ex-Triple Eight Holden VE Commodore at Queensland Raceway.

Tasmanian Ray Hislop (Ex-FPR Falcon) and the ever consistent Tony Auddino (Rightway Industrial BF Falcon) also remain well in contention this year.

The Kumho Series will tackle three races this weekend at the Shannons SpeedSeries event at Queensland Raceway, with the second and third races to be broadcast live on Stan Sport.

ENTRY LIST – Round 3

4 Kumho Cup Rightway Industrial Tony Auddino VIC Ford Falcon BF White/Blue
7 Kumho Cup MoComm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE Red/White
17 Kumho Cup TF Maintenance Jason Foley ACT Ford Falcon BF White
23 Kumho Cup RHM / Nulon Ray Hislop VIC Ford Falcon FG White
46 Kumho Cup Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher QLD Ford Falcon FG White/Black
57 Championship Notlaw Racing Jamie Tilley NSW Ford Falcon FG Black/Orange
62 Kumho Cup Team62 Derek Hocking NSW Commodore VE 0
68 Kumho Cup Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff QLD Ford Falcon AU White/Blue
75 Kumho Cup Crusher Parts International Brendan Strong QLD Commodore VE Black
79 Championship Anderson Motorsport Jude Bargwanna NSW Ford Falcon FG Red/White