August 7, 2023 | General

Dodge returns to a strong Trans Am field for QR

Three Dodge Challenger entries will gear up at Queensland Raceway this weekend with a strong field confirmed for the fourth round of the National Trans Am Series.  

Cairns Plaza Hotel’s James Simpson will make his return to the series for the first time since his crash at AWC Race Tasmania, which was also the last time we saw a Dodge feature on the Trans Am grid.

The Queenslander will run in the rebuilt Challenger, while Shaun Richardson and early 2022 contender Tim Brook make their first appearances of the season – the latter of which will be competing in just a one-off appearance at Queensland Raceway.

Tickets for the event are available for purchase at

“The last time I was in Trans Am was this round last year at Queensland Raceway, so it’s been a while between drinks and I’m looking forward to it,” Brook said.

“This time around I’ll be in the Dodge – Jeff Hume and Total Parts Plus had the car and saw a good opportunity to see what it is all about to potentially see his son Hayden compete next year.

“The change to the Dodge comes quite naturally, I drove it for the first time prior to our round at QR last year, it all seems pretty similar with only a few minor differences.

“We are not turning up just to make the numbers, we want to go as well as we can and where that lands us, we will have to wait and see. Hopefully we are competitive enough to still turn some heads and potentially see a more permanent spot in the category.”

Also making his return to the series will be the experienced Mark Crutcher, while Joshua Thomas will make his category debut in a TFH Hire Services backed Ford Mustang after previously competing in the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super series.

Team Valvoline GRM and series leader James Moffat headlines the remainder of the 21-strong entry list after a two-month break from the action, with many of his closest title contenders. including teammate Lochie Dalton and the impressive Tom Hayman to also return.

Phillip Island round winner, Nash Morris will be back behind the wheel of his dashing Supercheap Auto backed Mustang, while another 2023 race winner in Owen Kelly will look to get his season back on track after a troubled start to the year.

The driver who will be looking to continue his hot form will be Cody Gilles, who’ll be alongside The Racing Academy teammate Elliot Cleary.

Unfortunately, Tyler Everingham will not join his two teammates at Queensland Raceway, while Jackson Rice will also miss after making his 2023 debut in Winton.

In Rice’s absence, Dream Racing Australia will return to just two entries for round four – with Joshua Webster and Craig Scutella behind the wheel of their respective Chevrolet Camaro’s.

The Tefol Group will once again back Nick Lange in his second appearance of the year competing for Hoosier Cup honours, but will have the likes of Chris Pappas and his Wealth Rite Racing Mustang and John Hollinger’s Hollinger Racing Camaro to deal with.

Many of the fan-favourites and series regulars will fill the rest of the star-studded field, with TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Parks’ Brett Holdsworth, All-American Driveline’s Ben Grice, Pioneer DJ’s Elliot Barbour and Sydney Property Care GRM’s Edan Thornburrow all set to feature.

The National Trans Am Series is one of six national categories to feature at Queensland Raceway as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries and will take the track for the first time on Friday for two practice sessions.

Qualifying on Saturday morning will decide the grid for the weekend’s first of four races across the weekend.

All four of the category’s races will feature in the Stan Sport coverage, as well as every other round of the National Trans Am Series, where fans can watch the action live, on-demand and ad-free.

The category’s second race of the weekend will also be featured in 9Go!’s live and free coverage from 2pm AEST on Saturday 12 August.

The fourth round of the National Trans Am Series will take place at Queensland Raceway as part of the fifth round of the Shannons SpeedSeries on 11-13 August.

2 Hoosier Cup Cairns Plaza Hotel James Simpson QLD Dodge Challenger
03 Outright All American Driveline Ben Grice VIC Ford Mustang
4 Masters Cup Crutcher Devlopments Mark Crutcher NSW Ford Mustang
5 Outright The Racing Academy Cody Gillis WA Ford Mustang
8 Hoosier Cup Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas QLD Ford Mustang
19 Outright The Racing Academy Elliott Cleary NSW Ford Mustang
23 Masters Cup Holinger Racing John Holinger VIC Chevrolet Camaro
30 Outright Tom Hayman Motorsport Tom Hayman NSW Ford Mustang
33 Hoosier Cup Shaun Richardson Motorsport Shaun Richardson QLD Dodge Challenger
34 Outright Team Valvoline GRM James Moffat VIC Ford Mustang
44 Hoosier Cup The Tefol Group Nick Lange QLD Chevrolet Camaro
45 Outright AWC Lochie Dalton TAS Ford Mustang
55 Outright Total Parts Plus Tim Brook NSW Dodge Challenger
67 Outright Supercheap Auto Racing Nash Morris QLD Ford Mustang
69 Outright TFH Hire Services Joshua Thomas QLD Ford Mustang
73 Outright Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly TAS Ford Mustang
75 Outright Pioneer DJ Elliot Barbour VIC Chevrolet Camaro
99 Outright TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Parks Brett Holdsworth VIC Chevrolet Camaro
116 Outright Sydney Property Care GRM Edan Thornburrow NSW Ford Mustang
200 Outright Dream Racing Australia / Auto Fix Joshua Webster TAS Chevrolet Camaro
777 Masters Cup Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella NSW Chevrolet Camaro