July 30, 2023 | General

Cameron too Classy on Sunday Morning in Sydney

Team Valvoline GRM’s Aaron Cameron has launched into second in the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship standings after taking his second win in as many days at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Cameron got the jump from pole ahead of Team Valvoline GRM teammate Jordan Boys and was never headed across the fourteen lap journey.

The big mover in the early stages was the Team BRM/88 Racing entry of Aaron Love who gained three positions in the first lap from his starting position of eighth, and gaining another on the second lap when Ben Bargwanna locked up and ran wide at turn eight.

At the front, Cameron bolted from the field, setting a new lap record on lap five with a 1m 25.6522s, gapping teammate Boys by just over four seconds at the halfway point of the race.

Boys soon found himself under pressure from the Nippy’s Versa Motorsport entry of Blake Purdie, and ran wide at turn eight on lap six to invite the young South Australian right onto the rear wing of the Team Valvoline GRM entry.

All pressure on Boys was relieved on lap twelve however, as Purdie had a wild moment running wide at turn one, cleaning up a brake marker in the process.

Purdie then found himself under serious pressure from Love, who had broken the new lap record set by Cameron with a 1m 25.5711s set on lap ten.

Indeed Love swooped around the outside of the Nippy’s entry at turn four whilst Purdie was recovering, setting up an inside run at turn five that saw the Team BRM/88 Racing entry move up to third.

However Love had used the best of his tyres, and had also burned through his Push to Pass, which allowed Purdie to make good use of his extra horsepower at turn one on the following lap.

Bargwanna then pulled an identical move on the final lap in the Hangcha Racing entry, demoting Love back to fifth at the chequered flag.

Cameron cruised home with just under a three and a half second margin over Boys, followed by Purdie, Bargwanna, Love, Nic Carroll, Kody Garland, Sebastien Amadio, and Mark Rosser.

The third and final race for the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship starts later this morning at 11:55am.

The race will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sports.