July 8, 2022 | General

Buzadzic breakthrough as Torana hatch claims Trophy dash

After a wild start to racing at the third round of the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters Series return to Townsville, Danny Buzadzic was a clear-cut winner of the Trophy race on Friday afternoon.

It was a breakthrough victory for the Western General Body Works Holden Torana A9X driver who greeted the chequered flag 5.8s ahead of his rivals – having started 12th.

RESULTS: TCM Trophy Race

Early tearaway leader Tony Karanfilovski (Third Party Logistics Ford Mustang) fended off the late challenge from Ryan Hansford (Multispares Torana) to retain second spot.

Karanfilovski started on the front row of the reverse top ten from qualifying race, which earned ten series points for starting and ten for finishing.

The Mustang driver was beaten away by Ben Dunn who held the lead briefly until he spun the Chev Monza at turn three.

Karanfilovski was subsequently the leader and then challenged by Jim Pollicina on the opening lap. The pair battled for the lead at turn six, where there was contact and the Mocomm Torana spun.

The Mustang had a handy four second-plus advantage at the end of the first lap, however Buzadzic was able to chase Karanfilovski down and took the lead on lap five.

Fourth in the end went to John Bowe (Torana) after he and Cameron McConville put on an entertaining dice for position.

Then followed Andrew Fisher (Torana), Peter Burnitt (Torana), Warren Trewin (Holden Monaro HQ), Paul Freestone (Camaro) and Pollicina.

Leo Tobin finished 11th ahead of a slowing Cameron Tilley (Valiant Pacer), while Michael Almond (Camaro) and Dunn completed the finishers.

George Miedecke was a non-starter when the Whiteline Camaro refused to fire up pre-race.

The first series race of the weekend commences at 10:35am AEST tomorrow and will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sports.