July 1, 2022 | General

Biggest Super3 grid in three years set for Townsville return

THE ongoing battle for the 2022 Dunlop Super3 Series will continue at the NTI Townsville 500 next week as a strong 15-car field heads to North Queensland for Round 3. 

The grid represents the strongest Dunlop Super3 field this year and the best since the end of the 2019 season, pre-Pandemic.

Super3 will again join forces with the Dunlop Super2 Series to put a 30-plus field of Supercars on track in Townsville for the two races this weekend.

The outright championship battle has young Eggleston Motorsport star Kai Allen leading the charge following a productive weekend in Perth at the series’ last round.

He leads nearest rivals Brad Vaughan and Blake Fardell, who are tied on points for second, by 72 points heading into the half-way point of the series.

In the Super3 Series Cup, for privateer or Pro-Am runners, former champion Jim Pollicina holds a tiny three-point lead over Garry Hills at the top of the standings, with another former champion – Chris Smerdon – in third.

Drivers returning to the field this weekend include Ford Falcon driver David Murphy, who last raced at the Bathurst 1000 last December, and Layton Barker, who returns aboard the second ex-Tasman Motorsport VE Commodore to make his second DS3 start.

Meanwhile, the addition of the Heritage class entry of Shane Beikoff in his Turbo Brisbane supported Ford will mark the first time that an AU Falcon will have raced at the Reid Park circuit.

2022 marks the third time that Super3 will have raced in Townsville, the series having competed in both legs of the double-header there last year.

At the 2021 Townsville 500 Michael Anderson and Nash Morris shared the race wins, while Morris and Fardell split the honours a week later in the Townsville SuperSprint.

The full track schedule and TV schedule are available on the Dunlop Super3 Series website.

Both races will be shown live on the Seven Network while all sessions will also be shown live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sport.

ENTRY LIST – Dunlop Super3 Series, Round 3

2 Super3 Cup Page Bros Jayco Steven Page VIC Commodore VE II 5000 Black
4 Super3 Cup Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino VIC Ford Falcon BF 5000 White/Blue
5 Championship Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan SA Ford Falcon FG 5000 Red
7 Super3 Cup Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE 5000 Red
23 Super3 Cup RHM/Nulon Ray Hislop TAS Ford Falcon FG 5000 Black
24 Super3 Cup Eggleston Motorsport David Murphy NSW Ford Falcon FG 5000 Silver/Green
26 Championship Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen SA Commodore VE 5000 Black Blue
35 Super3 Cup Unit Racing Jason Gomersall QLD Ford Falcon FG 5000 Black
39 Super3 Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG 5000 Blue
46 Super3 Cup Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher QLD Ford Falcon FG 5000 White/Black
68 Heritage Class Turbo Brisbane Shane Beikoff QLD Ford Falcon AU 5000 Blue/White
72 Super3 Cup NHP Electrical Engineering Products Layton Barker TAS Commodore VE 5000 Red
76 Super3 Cup AC Electrical & Air Conditioning Garry Hills WA Commodore VE II 5000 Black
77 Championship Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell NSW Commodore VE II 5000 Black
219 Super3 Cup Masterton Motorsports James Masterton NSW Commodore VE 5000 Grey/Orange