June 19, 2022 | General

Ngatoa takes Race 2 as Mawson takes title

IT WAS double delight for Team BRM in race two of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship at Hidden Valley as Kiwi star Kaleb Ngatoa claimed the race win and Joey Mawson did enough to provisionally seal the Gold Star for 2022. 

Ngatoa made a perfect start from the front row of the reverse top-eight race and then withstood attacks from James Golding to record his third career S5000 victory.


Tim Macrow held on to third despite a damaged front wing, with Aaron Cameron and John Martin rounding out the top five.

Mawson drove a conservative race to cruise home to sixth position and provisionally claim the championship for the second straight year.

With one race to go he holds a 62 point lead over Macrow, with the feature race paying 60 to win.

There was disappointment for Cooper Webster, who was hassling Macrow for third position before he spun off at turn five, failing to finish.

The feature race is set for 11:00am local time with Aaron Cameron set to start from pole, with Nathan Herne, Tim Macrow and Kaleb Ngatoa to complete the first two rows of the grid.