June 18, 2022 | General

Webster dominates in Darwin debut

COOPER WEBSTER has crushed the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship field to take his first non-reverse grid race victory and his third career win in the category. 

Starting from the outside of the front row, Webster launched his Versa Motorsport entry to perfection and jumped polesitter Nathan Herne on the run to turn one.


The Valvoline GRM car attacked around the outside of the corner however was unable to wrestle the lead away from Webster.

From there, the young Victorian charged away from the field, lapping more than half a second per lap faster than the entire field for the first five laps of the race, building a comfortable 5-second margin well before half race distance.

He would never be challenged from that point, conserving his car late to record a comfortable victory, setting the fastest lap en route.

Herne and Cameron battled for second position, however retained position throughout the race.

Joey Mawson made a strong start, gaining one position from his qualifying performance to climb to fourth.

Crucially, the Sydneysider was first home among the key title contenders with James Golding and Tim Macrow both finishing behind.

As a result, Mawson now leads the championship by 68 points heading into the final two races tomorrow ahead of Tim Macrow.

Macrow started strongly however was hung out to dry at turn one on the start, losing four spots from his sixth-placed starting position to drop to 10th – where he would ultimately finish.

Golding was seventh, stuck for most of the race behind Blake Purdie – who was sixth – and John Martin, in fifth.

The Valvoline GRM driver now sits just three points ahead of the charging Webster in the battle for third in the championship this season.

The final two races to conclude the 60th Australian Drivers’ Championship will be held on Sunday at the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown.

Both races will be live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo Sport.