June 6, 2022 | General

Torana’s on top as TCM heads towards Townsville

HOLDEN TORANA drivers sit first and second in the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters standings following the first two rounds of the 2022 championship – with plenty of racing still to come. 

The field heads to Townsville in North Queensland with John Bowe atop the standings, his 318 points placing him just 10 ahead of the consistent Ryan Hansford and his Multispares Racing four-door Holden.


Cameron Tilley sits third in the championship – and leads the Pro Am class – thanks to his consistency aboard the ever-popular Valliant Pacer.

His lights-to-flag win in the final race in Sydney last week was his second in TCM history and his first in a non Trophy Race event, the points gained seeing him climb into the top three of the outright championship standings for the first time in his career.

Third through sixth position on the leaderboard are all closely matched with one Tilley leading another in the battle for third and fourth.

Cameron Tilley’s relentless consistency has him fourth in his Tilley Racing Mustang, and second in the Pro-Am standings.

One point further back is George Miedecke, who endured a challenging weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park that included a non-score in the final race.

Having led the standings narrowly following the first round, Miedecke slipped to fifth in Sydney though remains well in striking distance with four events still to come.

Like the Tilley relatives, a string of consistent performances has Cameron Mason sitting sixth in his Mustang – third in the Pro-Am class.

Jim Pollicina, Ben Dunn, Andrew Fisher and Mark King round out the top-10 following two rounds and seven races. Peter Burnitt leads John Adams in the Pro Sports class following the first two rounds.

TCM returns to Townsville for the third round of the 2022 series, the series second ever visit to the Reid Park Street Circuit and first since 2018.

That year, Steven Johnson (Mustang) and Ryan Hansford won the three races, while John Bowe won the round without winning a race. Johnson and Bowe locked out the front row at the fast, demanding street circuit.