May 5, 2022 | General

GT World Challenge Australia competitors set for outright Bathurst fight

This year’s LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour doubles as an endurance round for the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS as regular competitors in the series are in with an outright shot of victory.

Following on from yesterday’s announcement by Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia confirming half its line-up, this morning’s release of the LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour entry list reveals reigning series winner Yasser Shahin will contest the race in his regular Team Valvoline entry.

To keep updated with the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

Forming a two-pronged Audi Sport Team Valvoline attack, reigning GT Trophy Class winner Brad Schumacher will team with the factory squad for the first time.

Achieving a podium at Phillip Island, Tony Bates will compete in his latest specification Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo II, though driver line-ups for all three entries are yet to be revealed, but expect factory drivers to fill the slots.

One Audi line-up confirmed already is Mark Rosser’s Team BRM-prepared entry, which he will share with Nick Percat and reigning S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship winner Joey Mawson.

On the Mercedes-AMG side of the garage, last year’s GT4 Class winner Mark Griffith has enlisted previous co-drivers Jack Perkins and Will Brown to team with in a Pro-Am entry.

Bolstering the three-pointed star’s attack is RAM Motorsport’s entry, which currently runs second in the AM Class points. Regular drivers Michael Sheargold and Garth Walden and are joined by leading GT Trophy leader Brett Hobson.

Triple Eight Race Engineering’s entry was revealed last week.

In addition, father-son team Stephen and Brenton Grove continue learning their year-old Porsche 911 GT3R Type 991 II in a new format where Brit Ben Barker will join the duo.

Rounding out the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS representatives is the Wall Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Evo to be shared by owner Adrian Deitz, Phillip Island co-driver Tony D’Alberto, Grant Denyer and David Wall.

Bathurst also is a round of the internationally acknowledged Intercontinental GT Challenge, with Mercedes-AMG, Audi, Lamborghini and Porsche all gaining points as part of the Manufacturers’ Championship.

The next round of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS is the LIQUI MOLY Bathurst 12 Hour to be held on May 13-15.