April 7, 2022 | General

Joey Mawson scores Supercheap Auto Pole at Albert Park

Reigning Australian Drivers’ Champion Joey Mawson has taken out the inaugural Supercheap Auto Pole Award for the third round of Nulon S5000.

As predicted, it was a close battle, but a 1m 39.777s lap gave Mawson pole by 0.127s from leading Garry Rogers Motorsport contender and reigning Tasman Cup winner Aaron Cameron.

In an uninterrupted session, Mawson and Team Valvoline GRN’s James Golding traded times, but the latter was forced to settle for third where he will be joined by teammate, returnee Nathan Herne on the second row.

Team BRM debutant Zane Goddard will start fifth alongside championship leader Tim Macrow, while Ben Bargwanna was the last driver to be within a second of pole position in his return to the series following his first appearance at Sydney Motorsport Park last year.

Impressive young gun Cooper Webster qualified eighth ahead of Kiwi Kaleb Ngatoa and Blake Purdie completed the top 10.

Shae Davies will start 11th in his second start of the championship alongside debutant Conor Somers as behind Super2 racer Matt Chahda, Adam Garwood, James Davison and Sebastien Amadio completed the field.

Mawson continued his form from the second practice session of which he topped from Davison and Cameron.

Nulon S5000’s opening race of the weekend begins tomorrow at 10:20am AEST and will be live on Fox Sports 506.

Race 2, viewers will need to switch to Fox Sports 508 on Saturday, while the third and final race will be broadcast on Fox Sports 506.