March 20, 2021 | General

Joey Mawson takes pole in brilliant S5000 qualifying at Sandown

Joey Mawson has secured his maiden S5000 pole position, beating the competitive field in a scintillating qualifying session at Sandown Raceway.

Mawson and eventual second fastest driver James Golding switched positions on numerous occasions during the 15 minute session, with Mawson ultimately claiming the top spot for tomorrow’s first race.

Golding edged out Thomas Randle for a place on the front-row, while Nathan Herne’s late spin didn’t stop him from taking fourth on the grid.

Starting fifth will be Tim Macrow, ahead of Luis Leeds, Cooper Webster, Kaleb Ngatoa, Ricky Capo, Antonio Astuti and Braydan Willmington.

Three races will be held at Sandown tomorrow for the penultimate round of the 2021 VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship, with the first race starting at 9:25am AEDT.

CLICK HERE for results.