March 2, 2021 | General

Bowe grabs series lead as TCM title battle takes shape

John Bowe has moved to a clear lead in the Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters Series standings following the second of six scheduled rounds this year.

A consistent weekend at Mount Panorama saw Bowe finish third overall at the weekend, however dramas for closest title rivals Adam Garwood and Steven Johnson saw the Paynter Dixon Holden Torana driver escape to a clear points margin.

Bowe has now scored 304 points, handing him a 17-point margin over the ever consistent Marcus Zukanovic in second position.

Bathurst represented Bowe’s 65th TCM podium finish from 91 career round starts, and marks the first time the five-time champion has led the series since the latter parts of the 2017 championship.

Cameron Tilley, who won his first TCM race in Friday’s Trophy race encounter, sits third overall and also leads the ProAm class standings.

Ryan Hansford jumped to fourth position outright despite his race one non-finish, while Johnson slipped from third to fifth.

After co-leading the series following the opening round, Adam Garwood’s horror weekend – that saw him fail to finish two of the three championship races – dropped him from equal first to sixth position by the end of the Bathurst weekend.

One round down on everyone else, Ryal Harris’ near perfect score has seen the EFS Camaro leap to seventh position, while Andrew Fisher (who also holds down third place in ProAm), Jim Pollicina and Tony Karanfilovski complete the top-10.

Peter Burnitt leads the ProSport class aboard his Holden Torana SL/R 5000.

The Gulf Western Oil Touring Car Masters series takes an eight-week break between now and the third round of the championship, scheduled for a return to Sydney Motorsport Park on May 1-2.

STANDINGS – After 2 of 6 Rounds

  1. John Bowe 304 (ProMasters Leader)
  2. Marcus Zukanovic 287
  3. Cameron Tilley 256 (ProAm Leader)
  4. Ryan Hansford 239
  5. Steven Johnson 212
  6. Adam Garwood 198
  7. Ryal Harris 196
  8. Andrew Fisher 190
  9. Jim Pollicina 190
  10. Tony Karanfilovski 189
  11. Mark King 181
  12. Peter Burnitt 161 (ProSports leader)
  13. Cameron Mason 89
  14. Gerard McLeod 89
  15. Wayne Mercer 86
  16. Aaron McGill 85
  17. Jeremy Gray 77
  18. Jamie Tilley 61
  19. Paul Freestone 56