July 10, 2020 | General

Strong field confirmed for opening round of Super3 in Sydney

The first-ever combined Super2 and Super3 grid has been confirmed, with a total of 25 cars set to take the starter’s orders at Sydney Motorsport Park next week.

In what has been known as the V8 Touring Car Series, the Super3 field will consist of 11 cars, including entries from long-time category entrants Brad Jones Racing, Matt Stone Racing, MW Motorsport, Image Racing and Anderson Motorsport.

Amongst a field of 14 Super2 entries, and considering all Victorian teams had to make the border run to New South Wales before the state was shut, it is an impressive field with many new entrants.

Former Toyota 86 racer Jaylyn Robotham steps up to the powerful V8 class, driving an MW Motorsport FG Falcon.

The Matthew White-owned team, and Image Racing, both decided to jump the border to ensure a place in the race, with Image entering Erebus Academy driver Jack Sipp.

Declan Fraser, who was entered in the TCR Asia Pacific Cup event at Albert Park, will drive for Anderson Motorsport, while Supercars Championship teams Brad Jones Racing and Matt Stone Racing field Madeline Stewart and Jason Gomersall and Chris Smerdon respectively.

While Super2 and Super3 will share the same track for a combined race, points and podium celebrations will be completely separate.

The combined grid is the sole support category of the Truck Assist Sydney SuperSprint at Sydney Motorsport Park. The merged category will contest a pair of 30-minute races, with the opening opening practice session on Saturday (July 18) at 10:15am AEST.

5 Tickford Racing Falcon FGX Broc Feeney
7 Anderson Motorsport Commodore VF Tyler Everingham
10 Triple Eight Race Engineering Commodore VF Angelo Mouzouris
11 Brema Group Racing Commodore VF Zane Morse
14 Brad Jones Racing Commodore VF Josh Fife
16 MW Motorsport Altima Thomas Randle
18 Matt Chahda Motorsport Falcon FGX Matt Chahda
31 MW Motorsport Altima Jayden Ojeda
38 Eggleston Motorsport Commodore VF Brodie Kostecki
49 Image Racing Commodore VF Jordan Boys
54 Eggleston Motorsport Commodore VF Jack Perkins
78 MW Motorsport Altima Zak Best
999 Erebus Motorsport Commodore VF Will Brown
TBC Matt Chahda Motorsport Falcon FGX TBC
8 Brad Jones Racing Commodore VE II Madeline Stewart
17 TFMaintenance Falcon BF Jason Foley
28 MW Motorsport Falcon FG Jaylyn Robotham
35 Matt Stone Racing Falcon FG Jason Gomersall
39 Matt Stone Racing Falcon FG Chris Smerdon
66 Image Racing Falcon FG Jack Sipp
69 Mac Motorsport Falcon FG Jon McCorkindale
75 B Strong Electrical Commodore VE Brendan Strong
77 Morcomm Motorsports Communications Commodore VE Jim Pollicina
219 Masterton Motorsports Commodore VE James Masterton
777 Anderson Motorsport Falcon FG Declan Fraser