June 4, 2020 | General


The carsales ARG eSport Cup field is set for a thrilling finale tonight, with a 39-car field set to take to the famous Mount Panorama circuit.

The two-driver, two hour, double points race, starting at 7pm AEST tonight, will crown the inaugural ARG Cup winner, currently led by Kumho Tyres V8 Touring Car driver Harley Haber.

Haber will be partnered by sim expert Fawzan El-Nabi, and with a 37 point series lead over Jaden Ransley, Haber is in the box seat to secure the title 

To secure the ARG Cup crown, Haber needs to finish ninth or better to guarantee himself the title.

Kiwi Ransley, representing TCR New Zealand team Track Tec Racing, will be partnered by experienced Supercars and TCR Australia driver Andre Heimgartner. The New Zealand pairing can ill-afford any mishaps and will need a clean, fast run to offer Haber a real threat.

Panta Fuel-backed guest driver Ash Sutton remains a chance to win the title, sitting 55 points behind Haber. Like Ransley, Sutton and his sim regular co-driver Jake Blackhall will need a poor finish from Haber to challenge for the title.

Speed won’t be a problem for Sutton, though. The 2017 British Touring Car Champion took victory in the sprint round at Bathurst in Round 1 of the ARG Cup back in early April, so look for the Brit to throw caution to the wind.

TCR Australia drivers Dylan O’Keeffe and Jordan Cox remain the only other drivers with a mathematical chance to claim the title.

While there will be interest in the race for the cup, the 78-driver field is full of a star power, including champions from Supercars and the sim racing world.

Reigning Supercars champion Scott McLaughlin will be paired with ARG’s events co-ordinator Ben McMellan. The pair will drive a PAYCE-supported Audi touring car.

McLaughlin’s DJR Team Penske team-mate Fabian Couthard has been recruited by his endurance co-driver and TCR Australia regular Tony D’Alberto. The pair will race with backing from KMG Wheels, see pic above.

Shane van Gisbergen will also drive with his Supercars endurance partner, teaming up with Garth Tander in the JAMEC Racing Audi.

Walkinshaw United’s Chaz Mostert will link with his Bathurst 6 Hour winning team-mate Nathan Morcom in one of the HMO Customer Racing cars, while the other HMO entry of Will Brown will feature Erebus Academy young gun Jobe Stewart.

Qualifying and the live broadcast starts at 7pm AEST, with the race to start at 7:25pm AEST. See below for the live feed.

See below for the top 10 driver standings leading into the final event.

1 Harley Haber 542
2 Jaden Ransley 505
3 Ash Sutton 487
4 Dylan O’Keeffe 454
5 Jordan Cox 446
6 Nathan Herne 391
7 James Golding 390
8 Garth Tander 355
9 Tim Brook 340
10 Ben Bargwanna 289

See below for the full grid of 39 cars for the Bathurst endurance race tonight.