September 22, 2019 | General


Feeney finished third in a shortened 10-lap sprint race one position behind closest title rival Jayden Ojeda to clinch the championship by 24 points after a tight five-round contest.

Ojeda finished second overall having won three straight rounds leading into the Sandown finale while Hamish Ribarits ensured three different teams were represented in the top three of the overall standings by placing his MW Motorsport Falcon third.

Fife sealed his maiden round victory with a lights-to-flag drive in the third race winning the round ahead of Feeney and Ribarits.

Dean Lillie won the Kumho Cup Class while Brad Neill overcame a hefty race two crash on Saturday to edge out Jim Pollicina in a close conclusion to the class championship battle.

Feeney however became one of the youngest ever winners of a national motor racing title thanks to a consistent campaign that saw him win just the one race.

However finishes of second or third in every round and a remarkable run of 12 podium finishes from the 15-race campaign ensured it was his consistency that saw the Exit Timeshare Now / Paul Morris Motorsport supported driver clinch the title.

“Its been unbelievable. To come into this year as a young kid and come out a champion is incredible Feeney said.

“Ive had a great team behind me a great family and great sponsors behind me which made this year possible.

“You look back and theres been a few races where the team got me back out and kept me going. The consistency was what we aimed for this year – if you couldnt win go for those second or thirds.

“Weve worked so hard all year and I cant believe weve come out on top.

Fifes breakthrough success this weekend saw him become the first Holden driver to win a Super3 Series round since May last year the young Canberran winning two of the three races.

His strong finish to the year ensured he finished his first national-level title fifth overall.

“It was a great weekend he said. Its an awesome way to finish the year and the boys at BJR deserve it!

“That was my goal for the weekend to get good starts and be consistent all weekend and it paid off. Im just over the moon to get my first race and round win I couldnt be any happier.

After a crash in an earlier race saw lengthy delays to the race program the final race of the season was shortened to 10-laps to ensure the program finished on time.

Starting from pole Fife executed his best ever start and comfortably led the field into turn one while the battle for the minors saw contenders Feeney Ribarits Ojeda and Zak Best four-wide.

Feeney slotted into second place and applied pressure to the leader while Ojeda completed the first lap in fourth place.

The order changed on the sixth lap Ojeda jumping both Ribarits and Feeney who was driving with his championship in mind and set out in pursuit of leader Fife.

Needing only to finish within five places of Ojeda Feeney ultimately followed his title rival home in third position while Fife won by under a second.

Best and Ribarits who received a penalty for a start line infringement completed the top five.

Dean Lille won the Kumho Cup class while the championship was decided when Jim Pollicina was turned around on the opening lap by an errant Matt McLeans Image Racing Falcon.

With Pollicina last Neill crossed the line second in class to take the class championship.

Outgoing class champion Pollicina finished second in for the season with Chris Smerdon third.

“I feel really privileged to drive a stone brothers racing Falcon. Its a privilege to drive the cars yes we want to do well but to win this year was beyond our expectations Kumho Cup champion Brad Neill said bouncing back from a hefty crash on Saturday.

“I have to make special thanks to Terry Wyhoon and Image Racing who loaned us some parts last night to get us back on track today. I feel fortunate to be part of the Matt Stone team. Chris (Smerdon) wasnt here this weekend for family reasons and Im sure he wouldve been battling with us this weekend.

The calendar for the 2020 Kumho Tyre Super3 series will be announced in due course.

STANDINGS – After 5 Rounds.

  1. Broc Feeney (Falcon) 562
  2. Jayden Ojeda (Falcon) 538
  3. Hamish Ribarits (Falcon) 494
  4. Zak Best (Falcon) 454
  5. Josh Fife (Commodore) 413
  6. Nic Carroll (Falcon) 376
  7. Jon McCorkindale (Falcon) 215
  8. Brad Neill (Falcon) 194
  9. Jim Pollicina (Commodore) 183
    10. Chris Smerdon (Falcon) 178