August 27, 2019 | General


THE BIGGEST Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters field of the season to date will help celebrate a milestone weekend in the history of the category at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.

29-cars have entered for the category’s first event at the Western Sydney venue since 2015 as the stars and cars of Touring Car Masters headline the Paynter Dixon Sydney MasterBlast event featuring the Australian Muscle Car Masters.

The 300th Touring Car Masters race will be contested within a five-race program – the most the category has ever featured in a single weekend.

The bumper entry comes as the championship builds to a competitive finish with just 58 points covering the top four in the series standings with three rounds remaining.

Steven Johnson’s streak of three consecutive round victories came to an end at his home circuit last time out in Ipswich a round won by third-generation driver Aaron Seton.

Johnson’s 1969 Ford Mustang now leads John Bowe (Holden Torana) by just 44 points heading to Sydney.

Bowe in turn is being chased by a pair of Chevrolet Camaro SS runners who are both proving their title credentials.

EFS Racing’s Ryal Harris finished second in Queensland and sits third in the standings while Adam Bressington is fourth just one point further back.

Seton who has now contested two of the four rounds this year sits ninth in the championship and another maximum score in Sydney could see him edge his way even closer to title contention.

Between Bressington and Seton sits a tight battle for Pro-Am class honours led by Jim Pollicina.

The Sydneysider leads a gaggle of Holden Torana drivers with a 99-point margin over sixth-placed Bruce Williams and an even larger margin over Ryan Hansford.

Following the impressive debut of his new Allan Moffat-tribute Mustang in Queensland Newcastle’s Cameron Mason will be keen for another strong round to improve on his eighth-place in the championship.

With Seton ninth part timer Adam Garwood sits 10th – Marcus Zukanovic just behind hoping to work his way into the top-10 via a strong performance in Sydney.

The 29-strong Sydney field includes several names returning to the category following several rounds on the sidelines.

The experienced Bernie Stack steps back into the No. 85 Whiteline Racing 1970 Camaro while Aaron McGill returns his Ranger Ford Falcon GT to the track for the first time since the Adelaide 500.

Karl Begg (Holden Torana) will make his second TCM start following his Queensland debut while the popular and potent Ford Capri Perana of Jeremy Gray also returns to add further spice to the mix of marques and models on track.

Following unofficial practice on Friday the Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters series cars will be on track a staggering five times alone on Saturday.

After qualifying in the morning the Dometic Trophy Race commences proceedings.

After that the 14th race in the 2019 championship will double as the 300th in series history later on Saturday afternoon.

The field then qualifies again that evening on the shorter Druitt circuit ahead of the first ever night race in category history on the same layout later that evening.

TCM has competed on all three major Sydney Motorsport Park layouts previously however last raced on the shorter Druitt circuit in 2013 while supporting the Top Gear festival.

This year marks the 12th visit to the Sydney circuit the third most of any venue.


No Sponsor Name Driver Name Surname State Year Make Model Colour
2 Karl Begg QLD 1974 Holden  Torana A9X White
3 Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic VIC 1978 Holden  Torana A9X Hatch White
5 ACDelco / Auto Action Magazine Bruce Williams VIC 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 Blue
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford QLD 1974 Holden  Torana A9X Yellow/Blue
7 MOCOMM Motorsport Communications Jim Pollicina NSW 1974 Holden  Torana A9X Black/White
8 ACDelco / Auto Action Magazine / BARC Gary O’Brien VIC 1972 Holden  Monaro GTS Black
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO Red
10 Family Law Coach Guy Gibbons QLD 1973 Holden  Monaro GTS Blue
12 The Lighthouse Hotel – Burnett Heads Peter Burnitt QLD 1974 Holden  Torana A9X Yellow/Black
17 WM Waste / Kubota Steve Johnson QLD 1969 Ford Mustang Fastback Yellow/Green
18 PAYNTER DIXON John Bowe VIC 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 Black/White
24 Wellpro Racing Robert Hackwood QLD 1972 Pontiac Trans Am White/Blue
29 Brad Tilley Auto Garage Jamie  Tilley NSW 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe Black/Green
30 Hillier Brothers / THD Motorsport Aaron Seton QLD 1969 Ford Boss Mustang Orange
33 F3 Motor Auctions Cameron  Mason NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am Silver/Green
35 iseek Racing Jason Gomersall QLD 1978 Holden  Torana A9X Hatchback Red/White/Black
58 EFS 4X4 Accessories Ryal Harris QLD 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS Gold
60 ANGLOMOIL Lubricants/MD Steel Fabrications Cameron Tilley NSW 1969 Valiant Pacer Blue
65 Cannon Trailers Michael (Blu) Cannon NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT Red
67 Bilstein/JMG Racing Jeremy Gray QLD 1972 Ford Capri Perana Blue/Yellow
68 Trans Am Engineering Grant Wilson QLD 1968 Chevrolet Camaro SS Yellow
71 Centec Security Industries Markus Zukanovic VIC 1980 Ford  Falcon XD White/Blue
72 GFR Industries Geoff Fane QLD 1972 Chevrolet Camaro SS Orange
75 Ranger Lifting-Rigging-Safety Aaron  McGill NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XW GT White/Blue
85 Whiteline Racing / Gawler Self Storage Bernie Stack SA 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS Yellow
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am Orange
95 Whiteline Racing / VDC Adam Bressington NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS Yellow
97 Century Batteries Allen Boughen QLD 1963 Mercury Comet Black/Blue
99 Clifford Constructions / BP Botany Ben Dunn NSW 1975 Chevrolet Monza 2 + 2 White