July 27, 2019 | General


Best entered the round having won more races than any other driver this year but only third in points thanks to a mechanical issue at Winton that cost him a shot of a round victory.

However a superb rebound at Queensland Raceway saw him take his first pole position of the season and convert it to a lights-to-flag victory.

In another action-packed Kumho Series show Broc Feeney finished second and Nic Carroll third.

“It was definitely a good start to the weekend Best said

“Weve done similar things to what we did at Winton and hopefully we can keep going on.. and not get a commentators curse like we did at Winton!

“It has definitely been frustrating. To win two races at Winton and not come away with the round win. But everything is going to plan here so far. It hasnt been easy the guys are always driving well so its making things very interesting this year.

The 13-lap dash saw Best and Josh Fife drag-race towards turn one both holding off a fast-starting Feeney who flew from the second row.

The three held sway for the first three laps however on the fourth Fife ran wide at turn three and slipped from second to seventh position.

There was more action at the same corner two laps later as Ribarits and Feeney battled for second place.

The MW Motorsport Ford rattled down the inside of Feeneys similar Falcon spearing off the road and also dropping down to seventh place.

Jon McCorkindale was another to fall off at three coming a long way off the road on the ninth lap before recovering.

By mid-race the order was Best Feeney Carroll who had climbed from fifth to third Jayden Ojeda and the recovering Fife which is how the field would finish.

Ribarits recovered to sixth position however surrendered the championship lead while Brad Neill dominated proceedings in the Kumho Cup.

The MSR Falcon driver made a flying start and passed two cars on the opening lap before settling into seventh outright where he finished.

The recovering McCorkindale Jason Gomersall and Jim Pollicina completed the top-10.

The latter two were lucky to finish where they did after an incident at turn six two laps from home.

Dicing for position Chris Smerdon and Pollicina made contact at the right-hander. Pollicinas car spun across the field Madeline Stewart the innocent victim as she cannoned into the ex-Tasman Commodore.

Just behind Jason Gomersall also suffered damage but was able to continue at race pace however Stewarts car was able to slowly limp back to the pits and a non-finish.

Tony Auddino and Brendan Strong also failed to finish.

Two further races will complete the third round of the 2019 Kumho Tyre Super 3 series; the second of the weekend to mark the half-way point of the series.

Both races will be shown live on FOX Sports 506 and Kayo Sports.


Pos Car Competitor/Team Driver Vehicle Laps Race.Time
1 78 MW Motorsport Zak Best (VIC) Ford Falcon FG 13 15:49.6801
2 67 Exit Timeshare Now Racing Broc Feeney (QLD) Ford Falcon FG 13 15:54.5672
3 48 MW Motorsport Nic Carroll (VIC) Ford Falcon FG 13 15:55.5786
4 11 Anderson Motorsport Jayden Ojeda (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 13 15:58.6957
5 14 Brad Jones Racing Josh Fife (ACT) Commodore VE II 13 15:58.9383
6 5 MW Motorsport Hamish Ribarits (VIC) Ford Falcon FG 13 16:01.3813
7 9 Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill (QLD) Ford Falcon FG 13 16:10.4731
8 69 Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motors Jon McCorkindale (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 13 16:24.5571
9 35 Matt Stone Racing Jason Gomersall (QLD) Ford Falcon FG 13 16:26.5324
10 7 MoComm Motorsports Commun’tion Jim Pollicina (NSW) Commodore VE 13 16:30.6738
11 66 Paul Morris Motorsport Jack Sipp (QLD) Commodore VE 13 16:31.2425
12 2 Page Bros Jayco Steven Page (VIC) Commodore VE II 13 16:35.2914
13 17 TF Maintenance Jason Foley (ACT) Ford Falcon BF 13 16:41.5576
14 39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon (SA) Ford Falcon FG 13 16:56.6363
DNF 8 Brad Jones Racing Madeline Stewart (NZ) Commodore VE II 10 13:58.7706
DNF 4 Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino (VIC) Ford Falcon BF 5 6:32.8047
DNF 75 Strong Motorsport Brendan Strong (QLD) Commodore VE II