March 29, 2019 | General


The opening round of the 2019 Kumho Tyre Super 3 series has attracted a bumper field with an influx of new talent joining established names in what is the series most competitive field yet.

10 drivers will make their debut at Phillip Island while the total of seven teenagers competing is also a record.

The influx of new talent comes as the series launched in 2008 as the V8 Touring Cars enters its second decade with new branding and official recognition from Supercars for the first time.

“Its an exciting time for the series and the perfect way to start a new season said Category Manager Liam Curkpatrick.

“The combination of an excellent calendar that includes four events on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar a continued focus on affordability and a stable package has seen interest grow in the series in the last few years.

The notable change to the series branding is the biggest change to an otherwise stable set of rules in place for the new season.

Vehicle eligibility remains inclusive to anything pre Car of the Future (VEII and FG Falcon) while Kumho Tyre Australia remains the control tyre supplier.

Key Supercars rounds at Phillip Island Winton Ipswich and The Bend Motorsport Park will be followed by the series decider to be held at Sandown Raceway in September with the Shannons Nationals.

A balance between young talent driving for professional teams and privateer runners has been retained ahead of the new season several new faces also joining the Kumho Cup class for Pro-Am competitors.

“Rebranding the series this year adds to the series visibility and its position on the Supercars ladder Curkpatrick added.

“It is an exciting time for the series given the young talent coming through and the familiar faced who continue to support it so well.

The 2019 field includes last years runner-up Zak Best who won two races and the Sydney Motorsport Park round as he battled eventual champion Tyler Everingham for the 2018 championship.

With Everingham stepping into the Super2 Series this year the 17-year-old takes the lead role at MW Motorsport this year and will be joined by fellow teenagers Formula Ford runner-up Hamish Ribarits and Toyota 86 series race winner Nic Carroll in an expanded three-car team.

Best and New South Wales-based privateer Jon McCorkindale will be the two most experienced drivers in the championship class field this year.

McCorkindale has proven a regular frontrunner in his Super3 career and scored one race victory and two round podium finishes en-route to third in the championship last year.

2018 CAMS Payce Formula 4 Champion Jayden Ojeda will graduate into tin-top racing this year having recently signed with Bathurst-based team Anderson Motorsport.

With regular driver and Kumho Cup race winner Michael Anderson stepping aside the team will hope to challenge regular Super2 and Supercars teams with the talented open-wheel ace driving this year.

Brad Jones Racing will field a two-car team for the first time; 18-year-old New Zealand Karter Madeline Stewart and Canberra driver Josh Fife also 18 to drive a pair of Holden Commodores for the 2017 Super3 series champions.

Former champions Image Racing will field 22-year-old Karting Champion Matt McLean while Paul Morris Motorsports returns to the fold with Broc Feeney behind the wheel of their Ford Falcon.

The 16-year-old Queenslander became the youngest ever winner of a Toyota 86 series race last year.

Aussie Driver Search winner Matt Powers will become the first American driver to contest the Super3 series while Aussie Racing Cars series runner-up Kyle Ensbey will also make his debut at Phillip Island driving a privately-entered VE Commodore for KE Motorsport.

Competition for the Kumho Cup is also expected to be strong with the top six drivers from last years class championship all returning including 2018 champion Jim Pollicina.

Joining the mix will be Touring Car Masters race winner Jason Gomersall who will make his Super3 series debut driving a Matt Stone Racing-prepared Ford Falcon FG.

MSR join Brad Jones Racing as the two teams entering cars in all three tiers of Supercars competition this year.

Action commences at the WD-40 Phillip Island Supersprint on Friday 12 April. Three races two 10-lap affairs and the 12-lap finale make up the opening round.

Qualifying and all three races will be shown on FOX Sports coverage of the event.


2 Kumho Cup Page Bros Jayco Steven Page VIC Commodore
3 Kumho Cup Edge Consulting Engineers Shane Hunt QLD Ford Falcon
4 Kumho Cup Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino VIC Ford Falcon
5 Championship MW Motorsport Hamish Ribartis VIC Ford Falcon
7 Kumho Cup Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore
8 Championship Brad Jones Racing Madeline Stewart NZ Commodore
9 Kumho Cup Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill QLD Ford Falcon
11 Championship Direction Plus Jayden Ojeda NSW Ford Falcon
12 Championship Image Racing Matt McLean VIC Ford Falcon
14 Championship Brad Jones Racing Josh Fife ACT Commodore
17 Kumho Cup TFMaintenance Jason Foley ACT Ford Falcon
19 Kumho Cup Auto Openers Garage Door Openers Mark Tracey VIC Ford Falcon
21 Championship KE Motorsport Kyle Ensbey QLD Commodore
23 Kumho Cup HF Racing Francois Habib VIC Commodore
35 Kumho Cup Matt Stone Racing Jason Gomersall QLD Ford Falcon
37 Championship Aussie Driver Search Matt Powers USA Ford Falcon
39 Kumho Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon
48 Championship MW Motorsport Nic Carroll VIC Ford Falcon
67 Championship Exit Timeshare Now Racing Broc Feeney QLD Ford Falcon
69 Championship Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale NSW Ford Falcon
75 Kumho Cup Strong Motorsport Brendan Strong QLD Commodore
76 Kumho Cup Garry Hills Racing Garry Hills WA Commodore
78 Championship MW Motorsport Zak Best VIC Ford Falcon
84 Kumho Cup Rsport Race Engineering TBA Commodore
96 Kumho Cup Protrack Automotive Performance Gary Collins VIC Commodore