October 2, 2018 | General


THE BEST Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters field of the season will front for the series’ eleventh visit to Mount Panorama this weekend at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The 30-strong grid includes all of the series favourites title contenders and several drivers making a return to the track for the first time in several races.

The return of seven-time Great Race winner Jim Richards adds further punch to the field his famous Shannons Insurance Falcon Sprint to race for the first time since the trip to Darwin in June.

Richards has twice won the Bathurst TCM round – both times in the Falcon.

A host of drivers bolster the grid this weekend and are set to make the four races scheduled to be amongst the most competitive of the year.

Regular frontrunner Brett Youlden returns with his HQ Monaro GTS 350 while Queenslanders Ian Woodward (Camaro) and Rob Hackwood (Pontiac Firebird) make their first starts since Townsville.

Wayne Mercer (Falcon GTHO) Ben Dunn (Chevrolet Monza) and Sven Burchartz (Porsche 911 IROC) also return to the series.

Seven Aussie-built Ford Falcons will tackle the weekend in a weekend that marks the final Bathurst 1000 for the model.

The weekend marks the official Bathurst debut of the XD Falcon in Touring Car Masters competition – though it’s actually not the first time that model Falcon has raced in the category at Bathurst.

Several XD Falcons competed as part of the New Zealand Central Muscle cars contingent that joined the TCM pack in Bathurst in 2016 – Dean Perkins’ red example a regular frontrunner amongst the visitors that weekend.

Marcus Zukanovic will be looking to build on momentum created on the debut of the first truly TCM-specification XD at Sandown despite his weekend-ending crash on Saturday.

The car has been rebuilt between rounds with the experienced Victorian ready to impress again this weekend.

Steven Johnson enhanced his chances of sealing back-to-back TCM titles at Sandown last time out returning to the top of the standings thanks to a dominant weekend at the Melbourne circuit.

He was aided by an error from Bowe in tricky conditions during opening race that saw him fail to finish.

The margin between the pair stands at 55-points heading into this weekend’s penultimate round of the championship.

Adam Bressington’s strong Sandown weekend saw him retain third in the title race edging away slightly from Jason Gomersall in fourth.

Mark King powered to fifth place in the championship while Cameron Tilley dropped to sixth.

The Sydney driver however remains the leader in the ProAm battle with a reduced margin over closest rival Ryan Hansford.

Tony Karanfilovski sits eighth while Andrew Fisher and Jim Pollicina sit ninth and tenth respectively tied on 558-points.

Last year Steven Johnson dominated the Bathurst weekend winning both championship races and setting up his thrilling final-round showdown with Bowe at Newcastle a month later.

Johnson also smashed the TCM qualifying record on his way to pole his 2m16.61s a full second faster than Adam Bressington who was second in qualifying.

Bowe finished second overall last year and holds the Bathurst TCM lap record at 2m17.44s while Adam Bressington competed the podium.

Eddie Abelnica won the Trophy race denying Cameron Tilley his first win on the final lap in a thriller.

The Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters field tackles four races this weekend each of them shown live on FOX Sports 506.

The schedule includes Races 19 20 and 21 of the championship proper and another short sharp Dometic Trophy Race.

Following practice and qualifying on Thursday Race 19 will be held on Friday afternoon following Supercars qualifying.

A four-lap jumbled-grid Trophy Race will be held on Saturday morning while the 20th race of the 2018 series will be held on Saturday afternoon and shown live on both FOX Sports and Network Ten.

The traditional curtain-raiser on Sunday morning will see Race 21 of the year commence at 8:35am shown both on FOX Sports and Channel Ten.


THURSDAY 4 October
7:45 – 8:05 Practice (LIVE ON FOX SPORTS)
4:15 – 4:35 Qualifying (LIVE ON FOX SPORTS)

FRIDAY 5 October
4:45 – 5:05 Race 19 (LIVE ON FOX SPORTS)

SATURDAY 6 October
7:55 – 8:10 Trophy Race (LIVE ON FOX SPORTS)

SUNDAY 7 October
8:35 – 8:55 Race 21 (LIVE ON FOX SPORTS / CHANNEL TEN)


No Sponsor Name Ch Name Surname State Year Make Model Cap Colour
2 SHANNONS Insurance Jim Richards VIC 1964 Ford Falcon Sprint 5000cc White/Green
3 Peter Drayton Wines / Iron Bark Hill Brewhouse Cameron  Mason NSW 1966 Ford Mustang Fastback 5000cc Red/White
4 Skye Sands Rusty French VIC 1970 Ford Mustang Fastback 5800cc Black
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford QLD 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 5000cc Yellow/Blue
7 MOCOMM Motorsport Communications Jim Pollicina NSW 1974 Holden  Torana A9X 5000cc White
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO 5800cc Red
15 MOCOMM Motorsport Communications Dean Lillie VIC 1972 Holden  Monaro GTS Coupe 5800cc Blue
17 WM Waste / Herrod Performance Steve Johnson QLD 1969 Ford Mustang Fastback 5800cc Yellow/Green
18 Wilson Security / PAYCE John Bowe VIC 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 5000cc Red/White
21 Wellpro Racing Robert Hackwood QLD 1972 Pontiac Trans Am 5800cc White/Blue
25 Maxi-Trans Trailers Paul Freestone VIC 1968 Chevrolet Camaro 5800cc Maroon
28 Speedgas / ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Brad Tilley NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO 5800cc Green/Black
29 Burrells Soils & Sand / Brad Tilley Auto Garage Jamie  Tilley NSW 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe 5000cc Black/Green
35 Bigmate Racing Jason Gomersall QLD 1978 Holden  Torana A9X Hatchback 5000cc Red/White/Black
44 Rent-A-Bomb Car Rentals Brett Hotchkin VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT 5800cc Red
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin VIC 1969 Ford Boss Mustang 5000cc Orange
48 Rent-A-Bomb Car Rentals Rod Hotchkin VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT 5800cc Blue
52 Angliss Meats Brett Curran QLD 1967 Ford Mustang Fastback 5800cc White/Red
56 Atlas Copco Brett Youlden VIC 1972 Holden  Monaro GTS Coupe 5800cc Green/White/Blue
60 Carry On Victoria / ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Cameron Tilley NSW 1969 Valiant Pacer 5800cc Blue
69 Fataz Competition Engines Ian Woodward QLD 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5800cc Gold
71 Action Racing / LMF Constructions Markus Zukanovic VIC 1980 Ford  Falcon XD 5800cc Dark Grey
74 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO 5800cc Light Blue
75 Ranger Lifting-Rigging-Safety Aaron  McGill NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XW GT 5800cc White/Blue
85 Whiteline Racing / King Springs Mark King QLD 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS 5800cc Yellow
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am 5800cc Orange
90 Kalus Kenny Interlex Sven Burchartz VIC 1974 Porsche 911 IROC 3600cc Orange
95 Whiteline Racing / Fabre Australia Adam Bressington NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS 5800cc Yellow
97 Century Batteries Allen Boughen QLD 1963 Mercury Comet 4736cc Black/Blue
99 Mocopan Coffee / GoBlue AdBlue Ben Dunn NSW 1975 Chevrolet Monza 2 + 2 6000cc White