July 6, 2018 | General


THE PAYNTER Dixon Touring Car Masters series has completed a successful first practice session this morning at the Watpac Townsville 400.

A trouble-free 20-minue hit out saw Steven Johnson establish the benchmark in North Queensland with his 1m21.3629s lap standing as the fastest ever around the venue so far.

John Bowe was second 0.6 seconds behind his title rival.

Holden’s Torana clearly suited the 13-turn 2.86km Reid Park street circuit with Jason Gomersall third in his A9X Bruce Williams fourth and Ryan Hansford sixth.

Splitting them was Andrew Fisher in the Jesus Racing GTHO in fifth place both he and Hansford using their extensive V8 Ute Racing experience to their advantage in learning the circuit this morning.

Cameron Tilley was seventh Adam Bressington eighth with Jim Pollicina ninth in another Torana. Tony Karanfilovski completed the top-10.

Third through seventh positions were covered by just 0.8 seconds in a battle for the last step on the practice podium.

In just his second ever TCM start Aaron McGill’s round started strongly with 11th while Rob Hackwood was 12th in his first stint behind the wheel of the Pontiac Firebird.

Mark King Ian Woodward Leo Tobin Wayne Mercer Allan Boughen and Darren Beale completed the runners in practice one.

Practice two will commence at 12:55pm and will be shown live on FOX Sports 506.

This weekend sees the series revert to the traditional three-race format with the Dometic Trophy Race to return at Sandown for Round 6.