July 1, 2018 | General


THE DEBUT of the Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters at the Watpac Townsville 400 will include two races shown on the free-to-air Ten Network.

The series will also revert to an older race format for the series’ first trip to North Queensland with an additional practice session returning and three key races each playing out for championship points.

Round five of the 2018 series will include the 13th 14th and 15th races of the season.

Friday’s action at Townsville will see a pair of Practice sessions to allow the TCM grid to come to grips with the tricky Reid Park circuit located near Townsville’s CBD.

Saturday will see Qualifying and the first race contested with Race 13 of the series also shown on Network Ten in addition to the regular flag-to-flag coverage of every session from Practice 2 on FOX Sports 506.

Sunday will then feature races 14 and 15 of the year with race 15 also to be shown on Network Ten.

The series felt an additional practice session rather than the jumbled grid Dometic Trophy Race would be important given the series’ first visit to a challenging street circuit.

The Dometic trophy race will return at the Wilson Security Sandown 500 and subsequent rounds in September this year.

Getting up to speed in Townsville quickly will be vital given the competitive nature of this year’s TCM title race.

Steven Johnson raced to the front of the standings for the first time following his round victory in Darwin last month now leading John Bowe by 21 points at the series half-way point.

Adam Bressington moved to third overall thanks to his consistent showing while Cameron Tilley now sits fourth in front of Jason Gomersall.

Johnson (ProMaster) Tilley (ProAm) and Leo Tobin (ProSports) lead their respective class standings.

The full entry list will be released tomorrow (Tuesday).


Friday 6th July

Practice 1 – 9:20am
Practice 2 – 12:55pm (Live on FOX Sports 506)

Saturday 7th July

Qualifying – 9:50am (Live on FOX Sports 506)
Race 1 – 12:40 (12 Laps) (Live on FOX Sports 506 Channel Ten)

Sunday 8th July

Race 2 – 9:45am (12 Laps) (Live on FOX Sports 506)
Race 3 – 12:45pm (12 Laps) (Live on FOX Sports 506 Channel Ten)