March 3, 2018 | General


A PAYNTER DIXON Touring Car Masters classic has gone the way of John Bowe today at the Adelaide 500.

The Wilson Security / PAYCE Holden Torana driver started from second and trailed race one winner Steve Johnson into the first corner of today’s 10-lap dash – but applied the pressure from the early stages.

After trailing Johnson’s Mustang for the first half of the race Bowe pounced on lap five with a bold move down the inside of the turn nine hairpin to take the lead.

He would only hold it for two laps however with Johnson capitalising on a great run out of turn seven to pass the Torana in a straight line before the pair reached turn eight on lap seven.

And if fans thought the battle was over they were mistaken – Bowe pouncing one lap later to re-take the lead; once again at the turn nine hairpin.

He remained there until the end to record his first victory of the season and square the ledger with last year’s champion.

It means the round will go down to the wire tomorrow morning with Johnson holding a narrow points margin over Bowe thanks to his pole position bonus points scored on Thursday.

Today’s result also means the three races staged so far this year – including Thursday’s trophy race – have been won by three different drivers in three different cars representing three different brands.

With Johnson a close second attention then turned to a ferocious battle for third place waged between half-a-dozen competitive cars and drivers.

The scrap was ultimately won by Tony Karanfilovski who grabbed his first podium result in some time with hard-fought third place.

Cameron Tilley finished a stout fourth in his Valliant Pacer taking advantage of a close moment between Tony Karanfilovski and trophy race winner Adam Bressington at the hairpin on the eighth lap – ducking past Bressington as he was delayed when Tony K slid his Mustang wide on the corner exit.

With Bressington fifth Brad Tilley followed closely behind in sixth place while Ryan Hansford charged from the back of the field to seventh position after being sidelined by a broken differential yesterday.

Paul Freestone continued his strong weekend with a quiet run to eighth with Mark King and Gavin Bullas completing the top-10; having both charged from the back of the grid following difficult runs in race one.

An unlucky Bruce Williams was unable to take the start of today’s race after oil pressure issues on the opening lap – withdrawing before the green flag even dropped.

The third of 24 series races – to be held just after midday on Sunday – will complete the opening round of the 2018 Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters series.


________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL Laps     Race.Time Fastest...Lap1    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe (VIC)          Holden  Torana SL/R  5000        9    13:35.8067   6 1:29.5415 2    17  WM Waste / Illusion Gas Log Fi Steve Johnson (QLD)      Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800        9    13:36.3410   6 1:29.3221*3    88  TIFS - Warehousing & Distribut Tony Karanfilovski (NSW) Ford Mustang Trans A 5800        9    13:51.6004   6 1:30.9079 4    60  Glennan Transport / ANGLOMOIL  Cameron Tilley (NSW)     Valiant Pacer        4390        9    13:52.0726   8 1:31.1631 5    95  Whiteline Racing / Fabre Austr Adam Bressington (NSW)   Chevrolet Camaro SS  5800        9    13:52.4791   6 1:30.7908 6    28  Speedgas / ANGLOMOIL Lubricant Brad Tilley (NSW)        Ford Falcon XY GT HO 5800        9    13:52.8358   6 1:31.3515 7     6  Multispares Racing             Ryan Hansford (QLD)      Holden  Torana SL/R  5000        9    13:53.5310   3 1:30.6546 8    25  Maxi-Trans Trailers            Paul Freestone (VIC)     Chevrolet Camaro     5800        9    13:55.5343   4 1:31.0530 9    85  Whiteline Racing / King Spring Mark King (QLD)          Chevrolet Camaro RS  5800        9    13:55.8720   6 1:30.2515 10   16  Carne Grill / Precinct Bar     Gavin Bullas (VIC)       Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800        9    13:56.7684   6 1:30.0670 11   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin (VIC)          Ford Boss Mustang    5000        9    14:03.2439   6 1:31.8953 12   35  Bigmate Racing                 Jason Gomersall (QLD)    Holden  Torana A9X H 5000        9    14:05.9283   8 1:31.4180 13   27  MOCOMM Motorsport Communicatio Jim Policina (NSW)       Holden  Torana A9X   5000        9    14:06.9333   8 1:31.7653 14   29  Burrells Soils & Sand / Brad T Jamie Tilley (NSW)       Ford Mustang Coupe   5000        9    14:09.6553   8 1:31.6767 15   99  Balmain Coffee Company.        Ben Dunn (NSW)           Chevrolet Monza 2 +  6000        9    14:13.7565   6 1:32.3195 16   21  Wellpro Racing                 Robert Hackwood (QLD)    Ford Mustang Coupe   5000        9    14:21.4744   7 1:33.0445 DNF  22  PRT Fabrication / CROW Cams    Nigel Benson (SA)        Holden  Monaro GTS C 5800        8    12:44.2796   8 1:33.3924 DNF   5  ACDelco                        Bruce Williams (VIC)     Holden  Torana SL/R  5000        1     2:09.7111   1 2:09.7111