November 24, 2017 | General


A 20-MINUTE introduction to the streets of Newcastle has set the scene for a highly competitive final round of the 2017 Touring Car Masters series this weekend.

Friday’s sole hit-out saw a drama-free session completed without incident Holden Torana SL/R 5000 driver Ryan Hansford setting the benchmark with a 1m19.1805s lap.

He was 0.34 seconds faster than Adam Bressington’s Chevrolet Camaro the Whiteline Racing driver coming out of the blocks strong in his pursuit of a TCM title this weekend.

Bressington sits just 25 points behind series leader John Bowe and 20 behind Steve Johnson in second.

He also comfortably leads the ProAm division driver standings and while having one eye on the outright title this weekend will also be keen to seal his class championship with a trouble-free weekend.

Bowe and Johnson were third and fourth respectively split by just 0.1 seconds as has been the case for much of the season.

Returning two-time TCM champion Gavin Bullas was fifth fastest surviving a trip up the escape road at turn one to lap just 1.2 seconds slower than Hansford’s benchmark.

The rebuilt BigMate Racing Torana of Jason Gomersall was sixth while the six-cylinder Valliant Pacer of Cameron Tilley was a strong seventh.

Though physically large the lighter nimble Valliant has always performed well on street circuits with the North Sydney-based driver keen for a strong result this weekend.

Tony Karanfilovski was eighth in his Ford Mustang Bruce Williams ninth in the ACDelco Torana and Andrew Fisher – who had set the fastest time early in the session – completed the top-10.

Home-town hero Cameron Mason was 12th in the Shelby Mustang has he ran in a new engine ahead of his local campaign.

On his TCM debut Jamie Tilley finished practice one position ahead of his race-winning father Brad the pair in 14th and 15th respectively.

All 24 cars completed the session with all bar four of them completing more than 10 valuable laps.

Saturday will be a busier day for the TCM grid with practice early in the morning to be followed by qualifying just before lunch.


________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL   Laps   Fastest...Lap        Gap1     6  Multispares Racing             Ryan Hansford (QLD)      Holden Torana SL R                13    10 1:19.1805R 2    95  Whiteline Racing / Fabre Austr Adam Bressington (NSW)   Chevrolet Camaro SS               10     6 1:19.5265  0:00.34603    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe (VIC)          Holden Torana SL R                13     7 1:20.0245  0:00.84404    17  WM Waste / Illusion Gas Log Fi Steve Johnson (QLD)      Ford Mustang Fastbac               8     7 1:20.1520  0:00.97155    16  Carne Grill / Precinct Bar     Gavin Bullas (VIC)       Ford Mustang Fastbac              12    11 1:20.4690  0:01.28856    35  Bigmate Racing                 Jason Gomersall (QLD)    Holden Torana A X Ha              13    11 1:20.5327  0:01.35227    60  Glennan Transport/ANGLOMOIL Lu Cameron Tilley (NSW)     Valiant Pacer                     13    13 1:20.6002  0:01.41978    88  TIFS - Warehousing & Distribut Tony Karanfilovski (NSW) Ford Mustang Trans A              11    10 1:20.7623  0:01.58189     5  ACDelco                        Bruce Williams (VIC)     Holden Torana SL R                12     8 1:20.8093  0:01.628810    9  Jesus Racing                   Andrew Fisher (NSW)      Ford Falcon XY GT HO              12     4 1:20.8622  0:01.681711   72  GFR Industries                 Geoff Fane (QLD)         Chevrolet Camaro SS               12    10 1:22.1725  0:02.992012    3  F3 Motor Auctions / Lucky's Ho Cameron Mason (NSW)      Ford Mustang Fastbac              10     6 1:22.5030  0:03.322513   97  Johns Furniture Removals       Allen Boughen (QLD)      Mercury Comet                      9     6 1:22.5833  0:03.402814   29  Burrells Soils & Sand / Brad T Jamie Tilley (NSW)       Ford Mustang Coupe                12    10 1:22.6573  0:03.476815   28  Speedgas / Brad Tilley Auto Ga Brad Tilley (NSW)        Ford Falcon XY GT HO              12    11 1:22.7181  0:03.537616   74  Lyndways Builders              Wayne Mercer (VIC)       Ford Falcon XY GT HO              11     8 1:23.2086  0:04.028117   85  Whiteline Racing / King Spring Mark King (QLD)          Holden Monaro GTS Co               7     4 1:23.2668  0:04.086318   65  Cannon Trailers                Michael Cannon (QLD)     Ford Falcon XY GT HO              12    11 1:23.2845  0:04.104019    4  Skye Sands                     Rusty French (VIC)       Ford Mustang Fastbac              11     7 1:23.8556  0:04.675120   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin (VIC)          Ford Boss Mustang                 10     9 1:24.4095  0:05.229021   19  Tincone Industrial Services    Darren Beale (QLD)       Holden Monaro GTS Co              12     7 1:24.8478  0:05.667322    2  Shannons Insurance             Jim Richards (VIC)       Ford Falcon Sprint                 7     5 1:26.1893  0:07.008823   27  MOCOMM Motorsport Communicatio Jim Policina (NSW)       Holden Monaro GTS Co              11    11 1:26.4232  0:07.242724    7  Wisely Motorsport              Bob Wisely (QLD)         Holden Torana A X                 10     6 1:34.7303  0:15.5498