July 28, 2017 | General


The SCT Logistics Brad Jones Racing driver the current Kumho Series points leader was fastest in both 20-minute sessions and ended up topping Anton DePasquale by 0.55s thanks to a quick 1m11.2291s flyer.

Smith leads the series following victory at his teams home circuit last time out at Winton but will be keen to win on Queensland soil this weekend to add to his championship credentials.

A day filled with red flags left some cars with only limited running today ahead of qualifying and the first (of three) races tomorrow.

Behind Smith and DePasquale Tyler Greenbury was third for Eggleston Motorsport and just 0.1 seconds behind the Supercars Super2 Series regulars.

The three fastest cars were comfortably beneath the existing Kumho V8 Touring Car series qualifying record at Queensland Raceway set two years ago by now-Supercars runner Alex Rullo.

Round 1 winner Jordon Boys was fourth for Image Racing less than one-tenth ahead of the ever-impressive Michael Anderson who was fifth.

Thomas Randle was sixth on debut in Rusty Frenchs Syke Sands BA Falcon an impressive performance given he banked just 18 laps in total today.

Josh Smith was 7th in his Image Racing Falcon just 0.11 seconds covering Boys in fourth and Smith in seventh place in a remarkably congested middle of the top-10.

Aaron Seton Jon McCorkindale and Jim Pollicina completed the top-10 across the two sessions the ten covered by just 1.5 seconds an indicator to a highly anticipated weekend of racing this weekend. Just one second covered second through 10th place emphasising the impressive performance from Smith out in front.

Chris Smerdon Jason Heck in his rebuilt ex-FPR Falcon Michael Caine Chris Delfsma Nandi Kiss and Bradley Neill completed the order.

Four red flag stoppages curtailed opportunities for long running today Nandi Kiss spinning off twice in the first session as he came to grips with his ex-PMM Holden Commodore.

The former V8 Ute racer endured another trip into the gravel in the second session while a spin from Bradley Neil with just under two minutes to go ensured practice two ended earlier than anticipated.

Qualifying is scheduled for 10:10am local time tomorrow morning prior to race one at 1:10pm. Both sessions will be shown live on FOX Sports 506.


Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle             1    21  Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistic Jack Smith (QLD) 1:11.2291* 2    67  Paul Morris Motorsports        Anton DePasqualie (QLD) 1:11.7866  0:00.55753    38  Eggleston Motorsport           Tyler Greenbury (QLD) 1:11.8296  0:00.60054    49  Image Racing/Lubrimaxx         Jordan Boys (VIC) 1:12.3785  0:01.14945    11  Kenwood Homes                  Michael Anderson (NSW) 1:12.4279  0:01.19886     9  Skye Sands                     Thomas Randle (VIC) 1:12.4373  0:01.20827    14  Image Racing/Lubrimaxx         Josh Smith (QLD) 1:12.4860  0:01.25698    30  Aaron Seton Racing             Aaron Seton (QLD) 1:12.6686  0:01.43959    69  Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motors Jon McCorkindale (NSW) 1:12.8109  0:01.581810    7  Mocomm Motorsports Communicati Jim Pollicina (NSW) 1:12.8143  0:01.585211   39  Vectra Corp                    Chris Smerdon (SA) 1:13.3941  0:02.165012    5  JCH Electrical/Exhaust Innovat Jason Heck (QLD)  1:13.9168  0:02.687713   23  Massel                         Michael Caine (NSW)  1:14.0443  0:02.815214   12  Century 21 Hazelbrook          Chris Delfsma (NSW)  1:15.8162  0:04.587115   36  Nandi Kiss Racing              Nandi Kiss (NSW) 1:16.9234  0:05.694316   55  Neill Motorsport               Bradley Neill (QLD) 1:19.3356  0:08.1065