May 16, 2017 | General


RETURNING FRONTRUNNERS and a new yet very familiar name highlight a strong Touring Car Masters grid for round two of the 2017 series this weekend at Winton.

While Eddie Abelnica (XB Falcon Hardtop) and Bruce Williams (Holden Torana SL/R 5000) will both return to TCM this weekend former Supercars driver Melinda Price will make her debut in the category driving Phil Morris’ four-door XA Falcon GT.

A former member of the all-female ‘Castrol Cougars’ squad in the 1990s Price has made a gradual return to racing in recent years and recently contested the first round of the Australian GT trophy series at Sandown racing a Ford Focus MARC Cars Australia entry.

Her TCM debut at Winton is the first round in a planned full-year campaign in the category.

“I was excited to be running historics a few years ago and then to be on the grid at Sandown in the GT race last month was amazing – it keeps getting better and better.

“I can’t wait to get in one of those cars and on track with those legends.. I was on the Supercars grid with some of them 20 years ago.

“I’m looking forward to having a steer of a muscle car and be part of the Supercar show again.â€Â

Price said several members of the TCM family had been working hard to help her quest to join the grid.

 “I’ve got a few really great people who are on my side helping and encouraging me while I’ve been trying to get back into racing.

“John (Bowe) has been saying for a while how good Touring Car Masters is and how great it would be if I could do it. I’m grateful for his help to Phil Morris for letting me drive his car and to Tony Hunter for welcoming me to the category.

“I really want to do them justice and make them feel like it’s been worthwhile and get on the grid for the full year.â€Â

Price’s XA GT has a strong TCM pedigree and was raced to a round podium finish at Winton in 2010 when in the hands of Leanne Tander.

Price has secured several key backers for the Winton round to be announced later this week.

Meanwhile former AUSCAR and Formula Holden racer Bruce Williams will make his return to the category having made his TCM debut at Winton in his Les Small-built Torana SL/R exactly one year ago.

Williams qualified an impressive eighth with his then-undeveloped Torana at Winton last year however sat the remainder of the year out while developing the car and raising sponsorship for the 2017 season.

His Torana will sport major support from a high profile new sponsor for the season to be announced this week.

After missing the opening round at the Clipsal 500 Eddie Abelnica will also return in his storming Melbourne’s Cheapest Cars XB Falcon Coupe’.

Abelnica finished third in the TCM ProMasters category last year and the seven-time TCM race winner will be keen to return to his regular place at the pointy-end this weekend.

Also returning this weekend include Terry Lawler with his Ford Mustang repaired after it’s unfortunate turn one crash in Adelaide. Paul Freestone returns in his Chevrolet Camaro while Tony Karanfilovski will be keen to make amends for a disappointing opening round in Adelaide.

The Ford Mustang driver had crossed the line first in the Trophy race however was subsequently penalised 22 seconds for a safety car restart infringement – handing the win to Brad Tilley.

The Sydneysider has a strong record at Winton having won a race there in 2014 and finished third in the trophy race twelve months ago.

Current TCM class leaders Leo Tobin (ProSport) Adam Bressington (ProAm) and John Bowe (ProMasters) are all likely to face serious opposition.

In ProSports Tobin will need to deal with a host of the IROC Porsche 911s at Winton the nimble light sports cars always strong on the 3.1km Winton twists and turns.

Last year at Winton John Bowe edged out Jason Gomersall for pole by 0.08s and led home his fellow Torana driver to win two of the three races at the country Victorian circuit.

Adam Garwood was then on to make it a Holden clean-sweep in the Trophy race before Glenn Seton executed a stunning last-lap pass to grab the victory – the first time Bowe and his Torana has been beaten at Winton in five races.

Three races will make up round two of the 2017 Touring Car Masters Series each to be broadcast live on FOX Sports 506 throughout the weekend. 


No Sponsor Name Ch Name Surname State Year Make Model
3 Hercules Engines Cameron Mason NSW 1966 Ford Mustang Fastback
5 ACDelco Bruce Williams VIC 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford QLD 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000
7 Wisely Motorsport Bob Wisely QLD 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000
8 Lady Luck Racing Terry Lawlor NSW 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
11 Lion Mill Solutions Melinda Price VIC 1974 Ford Falcon XA GT
12 Giraffe Civil Contracting Adam Garwood TAS 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000
17 WM Waste / Illusion Gas Log Fires Steve Johnson QLD 1969 Ford Mustang Fastback
18 Wilson Security / PAYCE John Bowe VIC 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000
19 Tincone Industrial Services Darren Beale QLD 1972 Holden  Monaro GTS Coupe
25 MAXI TRANS / Freestones Transport Paul  Freestone VIC 1968 Chevrolet Camaro SS
35 Bigmate Racing  Jason Gomersall QLD 1978 Holden  Torana A9X Hatchback
38 Gawler Self Storage Bernie Stack SA 1974 Porsche 911 IROC
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin VIC 1969 Ford Boss Mustang
48 Melbournes Cheapest Cars Eddie  Abelnica VIC 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe
57 Graham Alexander Graham Alexander VIC 1968 Holden  HT Monaro GTS
60 Glennan Transport / ANGLOMOIL Cameron Tilley NSW 1969 Valiant Pacer
65 Cannon Trailers Michael (Blu) Cannon QLD 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
74 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer VIC 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO
77 Red Rock Winery / Werks Garage Rohan Little VIC 1974 Porsche 911 IROC
85 Whiteline Racing / King Springs Mark King QLD 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am
90 Kalus Kenny Interlex  / Werks Garage Sven Burchartz VIC 1974 Porsche 911 IROC
91 SA Structural Manny Palyaris SA 1974 Porsche 911 IROC
95 Whiteline Racing / Fabre Australia Adam Bressington NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
911 Performance 9 / Werks Garage Stan Adler QLD 1974 Porsche 911 IROC