March 5, 2017 | General


UPDATE: TONY KARANFILOVSKI has had his feature race win denied after being penalised 22 seconds by race control for a Safety Car re-start infringement handing Brad Tilley the win.

Karanfilovski had originally taken the flag first however a restart after an early safety car saw him accelerate too early and as such be penalised by race control.

The TIFS Warehousing Ford Mustang driver made the best start in today’s trophy race and led the field through the Senna chicane avoiding an unfortunate crash behind him to take the early lead.

A three-way battle with Brad Tilley and Adam Garwood saw the trio finish in that order with Tony K storming home to record a stunning win before he was penalised.

As such Tilley won from Garwood and Ryan Hansford. Given the penalty occured during a trophy race the change of result does not change the round points order.

The first corner was a wild affair as Ford Mustangs stole the headlines – for good and bad reasons.

While Cameron Mason and Brad Tilley both caught enormous slides and continued onwards Terry Lawler was less fortunate and after clipping the turn two kerb made contact with the inside circuit wall.

That impact then sent him into the path of an unfortunate Jim Richards and Cameron Tilley with all three cars immediately out of the race while Brett Youlden and Sven Burchartz were also delayed.

On the restart Karanfilovski Tilley and Garwood were able to pull away from the field while behind an enormous fight was underway for fourth place – several heavy-hitters boxed in behind Alan Boughen’s Ford Mercury Comet.

Boughen was able to keep the field behind him for several laps while behind him John Bowe Steven Johnson Mark King Adam Bressington and Ryan Hansford more all battled over the minors.

Hansford was the first to escape through the Mercury racer ultimately completing his charge from 18th position in fourth at the end of the 7-lap affair.

Steven Johnson stormed his way to fifth but had to pass then re-pass John Bowe several times after a highly competitive mid-race battle.

Wayne Mercer finished sixth Bowe seventh Mark King eighth Adam Bressington ninth and Cameron Mason tenth.

After running as high as fourth Boughen was forced to take to the grass at the final corner on lap six – ultimately dropping to 14th at the flag.

Despite the damage at the start of today’s race this weekend’s racing was highly competitive and sets a strong tone for the season ahead.

Leo Tobin won the Pro Sports class by two points ahead of Sven Burchartz and Darren Beale while Adam Bressington stormed to the top of the ProAm standings thanks to his strong weekend – one that saw him trail John Bowe home for second outright in race two.

Andrew Fisher’s new Falcon finished second in ProAm and Tony Karanfilovski third.

Bowe won the ProMasters round ahead of Mark King and Jason Gomersall while South Australian Bernie Stack edged Burchartz and Rohan little for the IROC Challenge win.

The next round of the Touring Car Masters will see the series travel to regional Victoria and Winton Motor Raceway on May 19-21.

ROUND 1 Results:

PRO MASTER: John Bowe Mark King Jason Gomersall
PRO AM: Adam Bressington Andrew Fisher Tony Karanfilovski
PRO SPORTS: Leo Tobin Sven Burchartz Darren Beale
IROC CHALLENGE: Bernie Stack Sven Burchartz Rohan Little


________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL Laps     Race.Time Fastest...Lap1    28  Speedgas / Tilley Auto Garage  Brad Tilley (NSW)        Ford Mustang Coupe   4735        7    15:23.1046   7 1:32.3875 2    12  Giraffe Civil Contracting      Adam Garwood (TAS)       Holden Torana SL/R 5 5047        7    15:23.6307   6 1:32.1200 3     6  Multispares Racing             Ryan Hansford (Qld)      Holden Torana SL/R 5 5000        7    15:32.1020   7 1:29.9547*4    17  WM Waste / Illusion Gas Log Fi Steve Johnson (Qld)      Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800        7    15:35.9673   7 1:30.6977 5    74  Lyndways Builders              Wayne Mercer (Vic)       Ford Falcon XY GTHO  5800        7    15:39.3650   7 1:34.2956 6    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe (Vic)          Holden Torana SL/R 5 5047        7    15:39.5205   7 1:33.7954 7    85  Whiteline Racing / King Spring Mark King (Qld)          Chevrolet Camaro RS  5800        7    15:40.1144   7 1:33.7000 8    95  Whiteline Racing / Fabre Austr Adam Bressington (NSW)   Chevrolet Camaro SS  5800        7    15:41.7259   7 1:35.4707 9     3  Hercules Engines               Steve Mason (NSW)        Ford Mustang Fastbac 5000        7    15:42.1972   7 1:34.7794 10   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin (Vic)          Ford Boss Mustang    5000        7    15:42.4004   7 1:34.7368 11   38  Gawler Self Storage            Bernie Stack (SA)        Porsche 911 IROC     3600        7    15:44.1374   6 1:35.4674 12   35  Bigmate Racing                 Jason Gomersall (Qld)    Holden Torana        5000        7    15:44.2465   6 1:32.5862 13   88  TIFS - Warehousing & Distribut Metodia Karanfilovsk NSW Ford Mustang Trans A 5800        7    15:44.4013   6 1:32.4509 14   97  John's Furniture Removals      Allen Boughen (Qld)      Mercury Comet        5000        7    15:48.8389   5 1:36.2909 15   56  Wasp Steering & Suspension     Brett Youlden (Vic)      Holden Monaro GTS    6000        7    15:51.5950   5 1:33.3635 16   77  Red Rock Winery / Werks RRR    Rohan Little (Vic)       Porsche 911 IROC     3600        7    15:53.1964   6 1:37.0163 17   19  Tincone Industrial Services    Darren Beale (Qld)       Holden Monaro GTS    5800        7    15:56.3031   7 1:37.9476 18   90  Kalus Kenny Interlex  / Werks  Sven Burchartz (Vic)     Porsche 911 IROC     3600        7    15:56.9270   5 1:33.8708 19   91  SA Structural                  Manny Palyaris (SA)      Porsche 911 IROC     3200        7    15:57.4520   7 1:37.9704 20   13  Mark Poole Motorsport          Rory O'Neill (SA)        Porsche 911 IROC     3600        7    16:07.8062   7 1:39.9954 21    7  Wisely Motorsport              Bob Wisely (Qld)         Holden Torana SL/R 5 5000        7    16:41.7571   4 1:46.6466 DNF   9  Jesus Racing                   Andrew Fisher (NSW)      Ford Falcon XY GTHO  5800        4    15:25.0750   4 1:32.6429 DNF   8  Lady Luck Racing               Terry Lawlor (NSW)       Ford Mustang Coupe   5000      DNF   2  Shannons Insurance             Jim Richards (Vic)       AMC Javelin          5890      DNF  60  Glennan Transport / ANGLOMOIL  Cameron Tilley (NSW)     Valiant Pacer        4390