December 3, 2016 | General


A TIGHT turn one battle between polesitter John Bowe and Steven Johnson has helped decide the opening race of the Touring Car Masters’ finale at Sydney Motorsport Park today.

Polesitter John Bowe paced the field to the green flag however it was a deeply committed run around the outside of the first 90-degree left hand corner by second-place starter Steven Johnson that saw GTHO Falcon emerge in front of Torana as they exited the corner.

Johnson’s WM Waste Management / Synergy Race Engines Falcon GTHO was then never headed as he led home Bowe and Glenn Seton in today’s eight-lap affair taking his third race win of the season in style.

His drive also included a new lap record of the 3.4km street circuit the 1m36.90s lap set on the penultimate lap immediately following a brief Safety Car intervention.

Bowe’s second place finish edged him further in front of the Touring Car Masters ProMaster points standings his margin now 76 points heading into tomorrow’s two races – where 110 points are up for grabs.

Glenn Seton now sits second in the standings jumping Eddie Abelnica after the Falcon XB GT Coupe’ driver climbed from ninth at the start to sixth at the finish.

While the race was straightforward at the pointy-end behind them there was drama as Jason Gomersall and Adam Bressington battled hard for fourth and fifth place on the road in the early laps.

The Torana driver held the early advantage however was passed by Bressington on lap two.

However things quickly turned for the Whiteline Racing driver as he made contact with the tyre bundle at turn nine – Gomersall forced to take evasive action and run up the escape road to avoid the stricken Camaro.

With the car blocking the road and unable to move a brief Safety Car was called to recover Bressington while the field regrouped.

The big beneficiary was Tony Karanfilovski the TIFS Mustang ace jumping two spots to fourth in the space of one corner: ultimately finishing in the same position.

Cameron Tilley finished fifth after a bold last-lap pass on Mark King at the tricky turn eight.

King attempted to re-pass the Valliant Pacer driver on the long straight before turn nine clipping the rear of his rival with the right front of his Whiteline Racing entry as he pulled out to pass. The contact damaged bodywork on the Red Camaro and with apparent steering damage on the front right corner the car slewed across the road to make contact with the outside wall forcing King out of the race.

With King out of a potential top-six finish Eddie Abelnica was the beneficiary while Jim Richards Wayne Mercer a recovering Gomersall and Rusty French completed the top 10. Leo Tobin was 11th while King Brad Tilley – with technical issues – and Bressington failed to finish.

Two further races will complete the round tomorrow including the WAECO Trophy Race to conclude the season.

Both races will be shown live on FOX Sports.  


________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL Laps     Race.Time Fastest...Lap1    17  Synergy Race Engines           Steve Johnson (QLD)      1971 Ford Falcon XY  5800        8    15:18.8857   7 1:36.9070R2    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe (VIC)          1974 Holden  Torana  5047        8    15:19.9342   8 1:37.0321r3    30  Thunder Road Racing Team Austr Glenn Seton (QLD)        1964 Ford Mustang Co 5000        8    15:21.3893   7 1:37.5355r4    88  TIFS - Warehousing & Distribut Tony Karanfilovski (NSW) 1969 Ford Mustang Tr 5800        8    15:28.4075   7 1:39.5807 5    60  Glennan Transport/ANGLOMOIL Lu Cameron Tilley (NSW)     1969 Valiant Pacer   4390        8    15:29.3783   2 1:40.1063 6    48  Sydney's Cheapest Cars         Eddie Abelnica (VIC)     1974 Ford Falcon XB  5800        8    15:30.7463   7 1:40.3705 7     2  Shannons Insurance             Jim Richards (VIC)       1972 AMC Javelin     5898        8    15:33.5687   7 1:41.4079 8    74  Lyndways Builders              Wayne Mercer (VIC)       1971 Ford Falcon XY  5800        8    15:34.7044   8 1:42.2610 9    35  iseek Racing                   Jason Gomersall (QLD)    1978 Holden  Torana  5000        8    15:35.0153   2 1:38.2512r10    4  Skye Sands                     Rusty French (VIC)       1970 Ford Mustang Fa 5800        8    15:40.3790   2 1:43.4666 11   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin (VIC)          1969 Ford Boss Musta 5000        8    15:41.4013   8 1:44.5695 DNF  85  Whiteline Racing / King Spring Mark King (QLD)          1970 Chevrolet Camar 5800        7    13:48.0201   2 1:39.7969 DNF  28  Tilley Auto Garage             Brad Tilley (NSW)        1964 Ford Mustang Co 4735        3     5:48.1087   2 1:43.9119 DNF  95  Whiteline Racing / Fabre Austr Adam Bressington (NSW)   1969 Chevrolet Camar 5800        2     3:17.2128   2 1:38.0324r