September 5, 2016 | General


PIC: MW Motorsport in action at Phillip Island in 2015.

The Formula Ford graduate has raced in the Dunlop Series since 2013 and currently trails series leader Jack LeBrocq by just 51 points heading into the next round at Sandown one week after Phillip Islands Kumho Series round.

The young Victorian ace is set to provide additional competition to runaway Kumho V8 Touring Cars series leader Taz Douglas who has now won nine races and three rounds in a row equalling the all-time series record.

“Weve been in touch with Garry for five or six years though the DVS and we had a mutual contact that was interested in doing something this weekend team owner Matthew White explained.

“We have been keen to get back in the Kumho series and its great to be able to do it with Garry. It works for him getting mileage before his next run because theres been such a big gap in the DVS calendar so it ticks boxes on multiple fronts.

MW Motorsport is no stranger to the Kumho Series finishing runners up last year with teenage star Alex Rullo behind the wheel of one of the teams Falcons. Team owner Matt White is also former Kumho Series regular behind he wheel while a strong appearance for the team at Sandown earlier this year proved the team remains a hugely competitive force finishing second outright with Bryce Fullwood.

“We had a one-off appearance with Bryce which was more about him getting miles at Sandown as he hadnt driven there before. It was a good little project and we had some good results but didnt quite beat Taz White added.

“Hes a good benchmark and a seasoned campaigner so well see how this weekend goes.

Douglas who also sits sixth in the DVS standings returns to his THR Developments VE Commodore this weekend holding a commanding 122-point championship lead following victories in all three of the five rounds contested.

Image Racing Falcon driver Tyler Greenbury sits second in the standings narrowly in front of Brad Jones Racing young-gun Josh Smith.

The pair have both been impressive this year: Smith scoring a pole position on his Kumho series debut while Greenbury has established himself as a regular podium finisher.

A strong weekend from ring-in Jacobson could also help the young pair in their pursuit of the series leader: the MW Motorsport driver potentially taking points away from Douglas to keep Greenbury and Smith in the title fight ahead of the final round set Sydney Motorsport Park this October.

They are both being chased by experienced hands Chris Smerdon and Jim Pollicina who sit fourth and fifth on the outright leaderboard and are both coming off podium finishes at the most recent Kumho Series round held in Queensland.

Smerdon trails an outright championship podium position by just 20 points heading into the final two rounds with Pollicina a further 11 points further back in fifth place.

Ex-Tasman Motorsport VE Commodore driver Pollicina meanwhile has a comfortable lead in the Kumho Series privateers championship 100 points ahead of nearest rival Michael Anderson.

The 16-strong grid set for Phillip Island includes noted Saloon Car racer Mark Primmer who will make his Kumho series debut aboard the ex-Jason Bright / Ford Performance Racing BF Falcon raced to plenty of Kumho Series success in the past by Tony Evangelou.

Prepared by 501 Performance the car will sport the iconic Dial Before You Dig colours this weekend.

The popular ex-DJR EL Ford Falcon of Troy Stapleton will also return to the grid as will fast Queenslander Shane Hunt and Victorian Leigh Moran who will line up in an Image Racing prepared BA Falcon.

Three races make up the fourth round of the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series this weekend at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit racing with the Shannons Nationals.

Sundays races will be streamed live via Nationals TV the Kumho series website or the MotorsportsTV app for iPhone and Android platforms.

Highlights of the weekends action will be shown on SBS Speedweek in the weeks following the round.


4 Priv Kustom Workz/Supercar Parts & Sales Shane Hunt QLD Ford Falcon BF
7 Priv MoComm Msports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE
8 Priv Poco/Simon’s Earthworks Steve Briffa NSW Commodore VZ
11 Priv Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson NSW Ford Falcon BF
13 Pro Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Tyler Greenbury QLD Ford Falcon FG
14 Pro Brad Jones Racing Joshua Smith QLD Commodore VE ll
16 Pro Image Racing/Lubrimaxx Leigh Moran VIC Ford Falcon BA
17 Priv Newton Motorsport/Petewell Engineering Troy Stapleton VIC Ford Falcon EL
18 Priv Wake Up/Side Bar Warren Millett NSW Commodore VZ
25 Priv Savs Auto Electric/Westco Equip Dean Kovacevich WA Commodore VE ll
26 Pro McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson VIC Ford Falcon FG
39 Pro Vectra Corp/Lubrimaxx Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG
41 Pro Dial Before You Dig Mark Primmer VIC Ford Falcon BF
45 Pro SA Racing Logist/THR Developments Taz Douglas VIC Commodore VE ll
66 Pro Unichip Dynomotive Jack Sipp QLD Commodore VE ll
88 Priv Simon’s Earthworks/WARLORD Simon Emerzidis NSW Commodore VZ