May 20, 2016 | General


Brad Jones Racing rookie Josh Smith edged out Kumho series championship leader Taz Douglas to top practice today in perfect conditions at Winton Raceway the pair of VE Holden Commodores ultimately ending a fast Friday split by just 0.0977s.

Smiths fastest time was a full second beneath last years pole time set by Liam McAdam and 1.5 seconds beneath the categorys lap record at the newly resurfaced circuit.

The BJR driver beat Douglas to pole in the opening round of the Kumho Series at Sandown earlier this year and heads into the home round for his team filled with confidence having tested at the circuit recently.

Douglas was pipped by Smith late in practice two having otherwise dominated both sessions in his ex-Kelly Racing Commodore.

He topped practice one by 0.9 seconds and held a similarly comfortable margin in practice two before a glitch stopped his car at turn five late in the session.

Smith was then able to pip Douglas following the red flag used to recover his vehicle though the THR car was also able to return to the circuit late in the session with its issues resolved.

With BJR and THR Developments-run Holden VE Commodores locking out the top two spots in practice the next group of cars a majority of them Ford Falcons – were tightly bunched with third through seventh positions covered by just 0.6 seconds.

Bathurst-based Michael Anderson was third fastest closing to within four-tenths of the two leading Holdens late in the second session driving his ex-Ford Performance Racing Ford Falcon BF.

The Historic Touring Car racer qualified 7th for Sandowns season opener in April before posting a strong sixth-place finish in the opening race of the year.

Third fourth and fifth places in practice were all filled by cars built by the former Factory Ford squad with Jason Heck (fourth) and David Wright (fifth) shading Andersons ex-Mark Winterbottom racer.

Rookie Tyler Greenbury was sixth in his Image Racing BF Falcon just in front of Privateers cup leader Jim Pollicina in his ex-Tasman Motorsport VE Commodore.

Matt Chahda Chris Smerdon and Brendan Strong completed the top-10 across the pair of 20-minute sessions.

The Kumho Series was unfortunately reduced by one today with Poco Racing driver Steve Briffa forced to withdraw after diagnosing significant engine dramas in his ex-Paul Morris VZ Commodore.

Briffas teammate Simon Emerzidis will continue tomorrow and ended practice 12th overall.

Saturdays schedule resumes early in the morning with a 20-minute qualifying session to set the grid scheduled for 8:50am with race one to be broadcast live on FOX Motorsport at 10:45am. Race two follows also live on FOX at 12:45pm.

The final race will be contested on Sunday morning.


Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL          Fastest...Lap        Gap1    14  Brad Jones Racing              Joshua Smith (QLD)       Commodore VE2        5000              P2  1:24.5302* 2    45  SA Racing Logist/THR Developmt Taz Douglas (VIC)        Commodore VE         5000              P2  1:24.6279  0:00.09773    11  Kenwood Homes                  Michael Anderson (NSW)   Ford Falcon BF       5000              P2  1:24.9658  0:00.43564     5  HaymansVirginia/JCH Electrical Jason Heck (QLD)         Ford Falcon BF       5000              P2  1:25.4151  0:00.88495     6  501 Performance                David Wright (VIC)       Ford Falcon BF       5000              P2  1:25.4892  0:00.95906    13  Image Racing/Lubrimaxx         Tyler Greenbury (QLD)    Ford Falcon FG       5000              P2  1:25.6774  0:01.14727     7  MoComm M'sports Communication  Jim Pollicina (NSW)      Commodore VE         5000              P2  1:25.7080  0:01.17788    18  Cavalier Homes                 Matt Chahda (VIC)        Ford Falcon BA       5000              P2  1:26.0490  0:01.51889    39  Vectra Corp/Lubrimaxx          Chris Smerdon (SA)       Ford Falcon FG       5000              P2  1:26.4884  0:01.958210   75  BSTRONG ELECTRICAL/Kirra Auto  Brendan Strong (NSW)     Commodore VZ         5000              P2  1:27.0949  0:02.564711   66  Unichip Dynomotive             Jack Sipp (QLD)          Commodore VE         5000              P1  1:27.8586  0:03.328412   88  Simon's Earthworks/WARLORD     Simon Emerzidis (NSW)    Commodore VZ         5000              P2  1:28.3401  0:03.809913   37  Tempest Sol's Air & Mechanical Anthony Loscialpo (NSW)  Commodore VE         5000              P2  1:28.4338  0:03.903614   17  Newton M'sport/PetewellEnginee Troy Stapleton (VIC)     Ford Falcon EL       5000              P2  1:29.2252  0:04.695015   25  Savs AutoElectric/Westco Equip Dean Kovacevich (WA)     Commodore VE         5000              P1  1:29.5019  0:04.971716   16  Image Racing/Lubrimaxx         Leigh Moran (VIC)        Ford Falcon BA       5000              P2  1:32.9093  0:08.379117    8  Poco/Simon's Earthworks        Steve Briffa (NSW)       Commodore VZ         5000              P1  2:44.5704  1:20.0402