April 2, 2016 | General


JIM RICHARDS has retained his status as the king of Sandown by edging out John Bowe in a Touring Car Masters thriller today.

Starting from third Richards jumped second-placed Bowe on the rolling start and assumed the lead when polesitter Greg Ritter pulled to the side of the road with mechanical dramas on the second lap.

The Chevy Monza driver had edged out Bowe for pole by 0.2 seconds earlier in the day however an apparent blown engine entering turn one at the start of the second lap forced him out of the race.

With Ritter recovered under local yellow flags what followed was an intense battle between Richards and Bowe with the Javelin’s straight-line legs just too much for the braking and cornering speed of Bowe’s Torana.

Both cars lapped within 0.1s of the TCM Sandown lap record during the battle with Bowe falling just 0.2s short at the line after a sensational fight that lasted the entire race.

Today’s triumph was the 9th Sandown TCM victory and 20th podium finish for Richards in his 25th start at the historic Melbourne venue.  

Steven Johnson finished third in the Synergy Race Engines GTHO Falcon shading the dicing pair out in front of the field.

Behind the leaders Tony Karanfilovski finished a sensational fourth and first in ProAm class after a superb run. The Sydney driver finished just two seconds behind Johnson in his TIFS Warehousing Ford Mustang TransAm.

Eddie Abelnica finished fifth and Jason Gomersall a storming sixth having started the race ninth in the iSeek Racing Torana.

Andrew Fisher charged to seventh in the Jesus Racing Falcon Paul Freestone eighth Adam Garwood ninth and Mark King 10th in the King Springs / Whiteline Racing Camaro.

Glenn Seton failed to finish after pulling off to the side of the road on lap three with damage to the front of his car while Greg Garwood was one of several drivers caught up in a lap one turn one drama at the start of the race – though all cars were able to re-join without issue. Seton’s damage was related to the turn one drama.

Two further races will complete the second round of the 2016 Touring Car Masters series tomorrow both to be streamed live via Shannons Nationals TV.


________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Pos Car  Competitor/Team                Driver                   Vehicle              Cap   CL Laps     Race.Time Fastest...Lap1     2  Shannons Insurance             Jim Richards (VIC)       Ford Falcon Sprint   5000       10    12:45.6890   7 1:15.8426R2    18  Wilson Security / PAYCE        John Bowe (VIC)          Holden Torana S/LR 5 5047       10    12:45.8926   3 1:15.8716 3    17  Synergy Race Engines           Steve Johnson (QLD)      Ford Falcon XY GT    5800       10    12:52.4557   5 1:16.1423 4    88  TIFS Warehousing & Distributio Tony Karanfilovski (NSW) Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800       10    12:54.8980   6 1:16.5798 5    48  Melbournes Cheapest Cars       Eddie Abelnica (VIC)     Ford Falcon XB Coupe 5800       10    12:59.0159   7 1:16.9282 6    35  iseek Racing                   Jason Gomersall (QLD)    Holden Torana S/LR 5 5000       10    12:59.5732   8 1:16.6377 7     9  Jesus Racing                   Andrew Fisher (NSW)      Ford Falcon XY GT    5800       10    13:07.3114   5 1:17.2855 8    25  Freestones Transport           Paul Freestone (VIC)     Chevrolet Camaro SS  5800       10    13:14.0205   3 1:16.8763 9    12  Giraffe Civil Contracting      Adam Garwood (TAS)       Holden Torana S/LR 5 5047       10    13:14.2367  10 1:17.8518 10   85  Whiteline Racing/King Springs  Mark King (QLD)          Chevrolet Camaro RS  5800       10    13:14.4157   8 1:16.6722 11   74  Lyndways Builders              Wayne Mercer (VIC)       Ford Falcon XY GT    5800       10    13:19.6472   8 1:17.7685 12   21  Giraffe Civil Contracting      Greg Garwood (TAS)       Ford Capri Perana    5000       10    13:22.2024   7 1:17.9785 13    4  Skye Sands                     Rusty French (VIC)       Ford Mustang Fastbac 5800       10    13:26.2469   6 1:18.4710 14   60  Glennan Transport              Cameron Tilley (NSW)     Valiant Pacer        4390       10    13:26.5055   8 1:18.1552 15   46  THD Motorsport                 Leo Tobin (VIC)          Ford Boss Mustang    5000       10    13:43.1212   5 1:20.1670 16   22  Aussie Muscle Car Run          Graham Stewart (SA)      Holden Monaro GTS Co 5800        9    13:06.6031   6 1:25.3280 DNF  30  Thunder Road Racing Team       Glenn Seton (QLD)        Ford Mustang Coupe   5000        3     4:00.7722   3 1:16.3225 DNF  10  Sunliner RV                    Greg Ritter (VIC)        Chevrolet Monza      5800        1     1:18.7777   1 1:18.7777 DNF  97  John's Furniture Removals      Allen Boughen (QLD)      Mercury Comet        4736