March 25, 2016 | General


THE GERMAN brands have continued to dominate the running in practice for the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour at Mount Panorama.  For the second time today, Luke Searle topped the order in the second of two 50-minute sessions: his 2m27.82s lap 0.8s off the pace he set in the first session due to changed track and ambient conditions for the afternoon session.PRACTICE TWO RESULTS: Click hereA light rain shower during the lunch break ensured that the track only delivered its best performance late in the session, which is when when a majority of the fastest times were set.Garth Walden continued the strong debut showing of his Mercedes-AMG A45 by banking the second fastest time, breaking into the 2m28s on his last lap of the day.That lap was nearly a full second quicker than the still-new Mercedes’ best lap in the first session, where Walden and Ben Porter finished fourth.Orange driver Tim Leahey had banked the fastest time early in practice two this afternoon, his 2m29.020s a solid effort and one that held the top spot until Searle and Walden bumped the Gold-Coast based team to third.Chaz Mostert made it a BMW 1-3-4 late in the session when his 2m29.137s lap elevated the DPO 335i he shares with Nathan Morcom to the top four, an impressive feat given the Nathan Morcom-run car gives away several years compared to the later machinery around them.Jim Pollicina ended practice two as the fastest Mitsubishi thanks to a late 2m30.42s lap with the sister Poll Performance EVO right behind in sixth.Terry Nightingale and Dylan Thomas were seventh, the sister CXC Global Scott / Handley EVO eighth, Millet / Virag / Gray ninth in the first of the HSVs with Symonds / Lane and Bargwanna completing the top 10.Practice two ran unhindered by stoppages with all 50 cars logging laps.We’ll post a full rundown of Friday’s Bathurst Motor Festival track activity later today.CLASS RESULTS – PRACTICE TWOClass / Time / On Lap / Number / Driver / CarA12:27.8271562 Luke SearleBMW M135i Hatch F20A22:32.324769 Warren MillettHolden VE-HSV GTSB12:29.1371411 Chaz MostertBMW 335i E92B22:36.291576 Joshua MuggletonHolden VE-HSV SSC2:40.519913 Hadrian MorrallRenault Megane RS265D2:44.295133 Mark CaineToyota 86 GTS ZN SERE2:50.427885 Declan KirkhamMazda MX6I2:40.326967 Coleby CowhamFord Falcon AU