November 11, 2014 | General


The most open and competitive ENZED Touring Car Masters season yet will see all three of the series classes decided at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit this weekend.

While Mark King (Chevrolet Camaro) has a substantial lead in the ProAm class the ProMaster and ProSports title fights will go down to the wire at one of Australia’s fastest circuits in the Shannons TCM Southern 90.

John Bowe (Ford Mustang) leads old foe Jim Richards (Ford Falcon Sprint) by just ten points in the outright ProMaster class while Chris Stillwell can seal the ProSports title for himself and co-driver Sven Burchartz with a strong weekend thanks to a solid 50-point lead over fellow Mustang driver Cameron Mason.

180 points are up for grabs in each class across the three races this weekend.

The Bowe-versus-Richards battle has ebbed and flowed since the opening round at the Clipsal 500 in March and has seen the pair finish 1-2 in rounds on three occasions this year – including Richards winning the Winton round on a count back after the pair ended racing tied on points.

Both have won two rounds this season however Bowe holds the advantage in race wins (6) and podium finishes (12) this year. Richards’ consistency has enabled him to stay in contention this season with a final-race DNF at Bathurst allowing Richards – who finished on the podium – to close on Bowe ahead of the final round.

Bowe has also scored pole position at every round contested this season – with no driver having ever scored pole in every round in TCM history to date.

Keith Kassulke (97.5 points from the lead) and Andrew Miedecke (132.5 behind) also remain in title contention should Richards or Bowe slip up this weekend – and both have had strong seasons.

Kassulke finished on the podium at Bathurst while only Bowe has more top-three race finishes than Lubrimaxx Camaro driver Miedecke.

Kassulke could be the surprise packet this weekend as he enters the round as the defending Phillip Island winner having won two of the three races held at the venue during the 2013 season finale.

His Savy Motorsport / Outbound racing teammate HQ Monaro driver Les Walmsley will also draw on last year’s form in an effort to end his challenging season on a high – the Victorian took his Savy Motorsport-prepared Holden to a race win and the class lap record at Phillip Island twelve months ago.

An absorbing ProSports class battle will also go down to the wire with former TCM class champion Chris Stilwell hoping to hold out young-gun Cameron Mason in the final round.

Mason is coming off the back of an outright race podium at Mount Panorama in October and the Sydney driver is the only driver in his class to win more than one ProSports round this season the six rounds split by five drivers in a competitive ‘race within a race’ this year.

Ford Mustangs fill the top two spots in ProSports with Rusty French (-96 points) third and Will Vining fourth only one point further back from the class lead.

Mark King all-but locked away the ProAm class fight thanks to his Bathurst class victory and takes a 157-point lead into the final round with 180 up for grabs. Mustang driver Tony Karanfilovski seems secure in second while Brett Youlden (Monaro) and Jason Gomersall (Torana) will fight for third this weekend.

Half points awarded in race two at Bathurst (due to 75% of race distance not being reached) have slightly altered the series standings ahead of the final round.

24 cars are entered for the Shannons-supported TCM 2014 finale’.

Wayne Mercer will switch from his regular Ford Falcon GTHO to the Phil Morris-owned XA Falcon GT while Sven Burchartz will race a Porsche 911 RS having alternated rounds with Chris Stilwell in the Ford Mustang so far this season.

10 Fords 5 Holdens 4 Chryslers 3 Chevrolets and two Porsche’s constitute the Phillip Island field.

Two races will be aired on the Seven network this weekend Race 1 live around Australia on Saturday November 15 at 3:30pm and race three shown on 7mate at 2:30pm on Sunday November 16.


Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit – Victoria

  Sponsor Name Driver Name State Year Make Model Colour Cap
1 Shannons Insurance Jim Richards VIC 1964 Ford Falcon Sprint White/Green 4700cc
3 Hercules Engines Cameron Mason NSW 1966 Ford Mustang Fastback Red/White 5000cc
4 Skye Sands Rusty French VIC 1973 Porsche 911 RS Black 3600cc
6 Chris Stillwell Racing Chris Stillwell VIC 1968 Ford Mustang Trans Am White/Blue 5000cc
7 Bill Pye NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Orange 5800cc
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher NSW 1971 Ford Falcon XY GTHO Grey 5800cc
11 Lion Mill Solutions Wayne Mercer Vic 1973 Ford Falcon XA GT Violet 5768cc
18 Dunlop Super Dealers/Wilson Security John Bowe VIC 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am White/Black 5600cc
21 Treloar Roses  Garry Treloar VIC 1973 Chrysler Charger E55 Yellow/Black 5570cc
35 iseek Racing  Jason Gomersall QLD 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 White/Blue 5047cc
43 Treloar Roses / Mick Wilson Plumbing Mick Wilson VIC 1972 Chrysler Charger RT Orange 4390cc
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin VIC 1972 Holden  HQ Monaro Orange 5800cc
50 Flo-gineering Carey McMahon NSW 1974 Holden  Torana SL/R 5000 Green 5000cc
52 Outbound Racing / Keith Kassulke QLD 1974 Ford Falcon XB Coupe Blue/Silver 5800cc
56 Autolite Spark Plugs Brett Youlden VIC 1972 Holden  HQ Monaro Green 5800cc
60 Tilleys Racing Equipment Cameron Tilley NSW 1969 Valiant Pacer Blue 4390cc
72 BMR Industries Bruce McLeod NT 1973 Ford Falcon XA Superbird Blue 5000cc
75 Mopar Performance Greg Crick TAS 1973 Chrysler Charger E55 Black/Blue 5570cc
85 Whiteline Transport Racing / King Springs Mark King QLD 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS Red/White 5800cc
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski NSW 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am Orange 5800cc
90 Kalus Kenny Intelex Sven Burchartz VIC 1974 Porsche 911 RS Orange 3600cc
95 Whiteline Transport Racing / Lubrimaxx Andrew Miedecke NSW 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS Black/Blue 5800cc
98 Thunder Road Racing Australia William Vining NSW 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe Black/Gold 5000cc
99 Outbound Racing / Treloar Roses Les Walmsley VIC 1971 Holden  HQ Monaro Blue 5810cc