August 3, 2013 | General


Dramatic accident major blow to Wyhoon and Evangelous title tilt

ROOKIE Ryan Simpson has converted his second straight Kumho Tyres Australian V8 Touring Car Series pole position into a win in Race 1 of Round 4 at Queensland Raceway today.

The Parramatta Smash Repairs Falcon driver piloted his ex-Craig Lowndes Ford to a comfortable 4.69-second victory leading home 2012 Queensland round winner Morgan Haber and MW Motorsport team owner Matthew White in the 12-lapper.

While it was plain sailing out in front for Simpson drama on the third lap changed the face of the series.

Former Kumho Series champion Terry Wyhoon who entered the round a close second behind Shae Davies in the points made a mistake and the resultant accident took both himself and Jim Pollicina out of the race.

Last round winner Tony Evangelou was also involved though was able to pit for repairs and rejoin. He finished 17th.

Wyhoon was penalised 10 championship points for the accident.

The big winner of the crash was Shae Davies who finished fourth in his Fernandez Motorsport Falcon though was safe in the knowledge the three drivers that finished in front of him are not in title contention having not competed in the full season so far.

Toowoombas Nathan Assaillit finished fifth clear of Western Australian Matt Hansen with Steve Briffa Dan Day Matt Chahda and debutante Jordan Skinner rounding out the top 10.

A total of 19 cars took to the start line with local Lyle Kearns withdrawing after the morning warm-up session due to gearbox problems. Series debutante Ramon Connell repaired his ex- Greenfield Mowers Falcon AUs engine overnight after problems in Friday practice and started at the back of the grid. He finished 15th.

Racing will continue tomorrow at Queensland Raceway with Race 2 at 8.55am AEST and Race. 3 to complete the round at 12.20pm.

Live streaming coverage will be available on Sunday at with television coverage on SBS Speedweek and a one-hour program on SPEED on Foxtel at a later date.